Kubica to leave Williams at the end of the 2019 season

Robert Kubica has confirmed that he will leave Williams at the end of the current Formula 1 season, ending his two year relationship with the British team.

Kubica returned to Formula 1 after an eight year absence from the series – having suffered severe injuries in a rally accident in Andorra just before the 2011 Formula 1 season got underway – but has struggled to match the pace of his team-mate George Russell across every Grand Prix weekend so far.

In a statement released by Williams, Kubica said: “I would like to thank the team for the last two years and for helping make my comeback to the Formula One grid possible.

“I have enjoyed my time with ROKiT Williams Racing, both as Reserve & Development Driver and as a Race Driver this year, but I feel that the time is now right for me to move on to the next chapter in my career.”

Williams initially recruited Kubica as their Reserve and Development driver for 2018 and after being impressed by his feedback, he was promoted to a race seat for this year in the hope that he would be able to help the team recover and close the gap to the midfield pack.

But the Grove team still sit some way behind the rest of the field and Claire Williams said that she “respects” Kubica’s decision to leave the team and pursue other opportunities.

“I would like to thank Robert for his hard work and respect his decision to leave the team at the end of the 2019 season.” added Williams.

“Robert has been an important member of the team in both his role as Reserve & Development Driver, and subsequently as one of our Race Drivers in 2019.

“We thank him for his continued efforts throughout what has been a challenging couple of seasons and wish him well in his future endeavours.”

Williams Reserve driver and Formula 2 title contender, Nicholas Latifi is the current favourite to take the remaining seat at Williams, although Nico Hulkenberg is also available having been dropped by Renault and overlooked by Haas in favour for Romain Grosjean.