FE: Third pole in a row for Alexander Sims and BMW

Group Qualifying was in full force today at Diriyah following the results yesterday.

It was Alexander Sims for BMW who took pole once again after a storming lap in Super Pole which saw him slide through turn 17 in complete contrast to his quiet and modest personality. Having achieved Pole yesterday and in New York at the end of last season, Sims is on a roll. His time was 1.11.476.

Following him are Formula E champions Sebastien Buemi, Nissan, who will start second after a very tidy lap and Lucas Di Grassi, Audi, who will always provide a good fight at the front.

Mitch Evans lines up in fourth for Jaguar with Jerome D’Ambrosio for Mahindra in fifth after making a mistake early in the all. Antonio Felix Da Costa topped the group stages of qualifying but messed up his Super Pole lap time and will start in sixth place for Techeetah.

Missing out on the super pole session was Virgin’s Sam Bird in seventh with a very good lap to top Group One and stay up there for the rest of the session and was only knocked out at the death by Buemi.

Antonio Felix da Costa (PRT), DS Techeetah, DS E-Tense FE20 © FIA Formula E
Antonio Felix da Costa (PRT), DS Techeetah, DS E-Tense FE20 © FIA Formula E

Eduardo Mortara, Venturi lines up alongside Bird followed by BMW’s Max Gunther and the Porsche of Andre Lotterer rounding out the top 10.

Jean-Eric Vergne in the Techeetah who suffered damage in practice did a very good job to finish in 11th considering his lack of running. He will be followed by Stoffel Vandoorne’s Mercedes and the Virgin of Robin Frijns.

Pascal Wehrlein will start 14th in the Mahindra saying it wasn’t his day but teammate D’Ambrosio’s pace shows that he will be one to watch in the race. Audi’s Daniel Abt could only line up in 15th.

Felipe Massa for Venturi is in 16th with Oliver Rowland for Nissan behind him. Rowland was first out in Group 1 becoming the track sweeper for everyone behind.

Oliver Turvey in the NIO placed 18th with Neel Jani in 19th for Porsche and Brendon Hartley in 20th as the highest placed Dragon.

Turvey’s teammate, Ma Qing Hua is in 21st with James Calado for Jaguar alongside him. Nico Muller will start his first race from 23rd and Nyck De Vries rounds out the grid for Mercedes.

The race will begin at 12 noon UK time. Can BMW learn from yesterday and win with Alexander Sims?

Position Driver Team Time
1 Alexander Sims BMW-i Andretti 1.11.476
2 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams +0.220
3 Lucas Di Grassi Audi Abt Schaeffler +0.308
4 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar +0.453
5 Jerome D’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing +0.617
6 Antonio Felix Da Costa DS Techeetah +2.658
7 Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing 1.12.007
8 Edoardo Mortara ROKIT Venturi Racing +0.001
9 Max Guenther BMW-i Andretti +0.044
10 Andre Lotterer Tag Heuer Porsche +0.146
11 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah +0.320
12 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes-Benz EQ +0.415
13 Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing +0.447
14 Pascal Wehrlein Mahindra Racing +0.626
15 Daniel Abt Audi Abt Schaeffler +0.635
16 Felipe Massa ROKIT Venturi Racing +0.649
17 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams +0.653
18 Oliver Turvey NIO 333 Racing +0.664
19 Neel Jani Tag Heuer Porsche +0.725
20 Brendon Hartley GEOX Dragon +1.175
21 Ma Qing Hua NIO 333 Racing +1.198
22 James Calado Panasonic Jaguar +1.423
23 Nico Muller GEOX Dragon +1.696
24 Nyck De Vries Mercedes-Benz EQ +2.075