Formula E to have 6 Races over 9 Day Festival

Formula E will restart on 5 August with the first of three double headers at Berlin over nine days to round off Season 6. 

The three double headers will take place on different circuit layouts, a luxury available at Berlin because it is held on the old Tempelhof airfield.

The first double header will be on the 5th-6th, the second; 8th-9th and the final two rounds of the season; 12-13 August.

This brings the total number of races for the season up to 11 and will be a massive end to the championship.

All of the races will be held behind closed doors and there will be no more than a thousand people on site at any one time with detailed plans to stick to strict social distancing where possible, which is the case across all FIA series.

Jaime Reigle, CEO of Formula E said: “Since taking action to suspend our season in March, we have emphasised a revised calendar which places the health and safety of our community first, represents Formula E’s distinct brand of city-centre racing and offers an exciting conclusion to the compelling season of racing we had seen so far.

“The festival will feature three track layouts, presenting a new challenge and creating the conditions for an unpredictable and drama-filled climax to our season. The team at Formula E has been working incredibly hard over the past weeks to enable us to go racing again in Berlin.

“I’d like to thank the FIA, our manufacturers, teams and partners for their continued support, the city of Berlin for their cooperation and flexibility and our fans for their patience.”

2019 Berlin E-prix
Berlin Tempelhof has a massive apron which lends itself to alternate track layouts and has hosted different layouts since Season 1 © FIA Formula E

6 races have been held in Season 6 currently and Antonio Felix Da Costa is leading the championship ahead of Mitch Evans and Alexander Sims.

DS Techeetah leads the Teams championship.

The Calendar now looks like this;

22 November 2019: Race 1 – Diriyah

23 November 2019: Race 2 – Diriyah

18 January 2020: Race 3 – Santiago

15 February 2020: Race 4 – Mexico City

29 February 2020: Race 5 – Marrakesh

5 August 2020: Race 6 – Berlin – Track Layout 1

6 August 2020: Race 7 – Berlin – Track Layout 1

8 August 2020: Race 8 – Berlin – Track Layout 2

9 August 2020: Race 9 – Berlin – Track Layout 2

12 August 2020: Race 10 – Berlin – Track Layout 3

13 August 2020: Race 11 – Berlin – Track Layout 3