Da Costa wins Berlin E-Prix after chaotic finish

Antonio Felix Da Costa, the championship leader, extended his advantage after leading every lap in the first Berlin E-Prix.

As he pulled into the celebration area, the Portuguese driver took a bow after a race he judged to perfection to become the first two time winner this year.

He crossed the line he hit 0.0% energy use but it didn’t matter, he was able to coast across the line and lay down the gauntlet to his championship rivals.

Da Costa was running 1-2 with teammate Jean-Eric Vergne, pulling an 8 second ead over Lotterer until a safety car eliminated their gap.

They held onto the positions but did not pull away and close to the end of the race, JEV’s race imploded.

After a crash for Felipe Massa there looked like there would be no race neutralising so JEV took Attack Mode only for a full course yellow to be enacted meaning that JEV used up his second Attack Mode redundantly.

Following this he was swamped by those behind him. Whilst he tried to conserve energy which he had wasted early on to keep up with Da Costa.

JEV was spun round on the penultimate lap by Audi driver Lucas Di Grassi and pulled up in the pitlane and was not classifed.

Antonio Félix da Costa (PRT), DS Techeetah, DS E-Tense FE20
Antonio Félix da Costa leading the Berlin E-Prix ©FIA Formula E

Andre Lotterer converted third on the grid to second on the road for Porsche at one of their home events showing that they have unlocked some more race pace which was what they were lacking a few rounds ago.

Lotterer missed an attack mode in the early stages of the race and had to essentially drive off line for nothing. He had mixed feelings when interviewed after saying he should have been fighting Da Costa by the end.

Sam Bird finished in third after a late race Attack Mode charge but lost out to Andre Lotterer on the last lap. He plugged away with clinical moves did Bird, moving his way up the field whilst others made mistakes and lost their cool.

Nyck De Vries will be rueing some mistakes that lost him positions and potentially his first podium in the series. Some very late and questionable defensive moves put him off line and onto the marbles and he was passed by Lotterer, who he had been battling.

Jerome D’Ambrosio finished fifth after a solid race with a late race dive judged to perfection on Stoffel Vandoorne who came home sixth, very strong drive for him, making up a lot of places to be the second highest finisher of the championship favourites.

Sebastien Buemi was seventh and Max Gunther eighth. Gunther spun round Mitch Evans close to the end of the race after Evans had put on a superb move on Buemi. Gunther is likely to be investigated for ruining Evans race.

Lucas Di Grassi and Alex Sims rounded out the points, both drivers charging up the field from their far back grid positions to take any point they can.

Rene Rast finished 11th in his first race for Audi, the highest placed of those stepping up for Berlin with Edo Mortara behind him in 12th.

The start of the evening race in Berlin © FIA Formula E

Neel Jani was 13th, Alex Lynn, 14th, and Mitch Evans eventually was 15th, scoring no points to his championship rival, Da Costa. The gap now being 41 points.

Oliver Rowland and James Calado were saved from their early race penalties by a safety car because of Robin Frijns hitting the wall and destroying his suspension. They finished 16th and 17th respectively, ahead of the two NIO’s of Turvey and Abt.

JEV was classified 20th, Sergio Sette Camara, 21st and Nico Muller 22nd after he ran out of energy on the final lap.

Felipe Massa locked his wheels and crashed midway through the race and Robin Frijns was the first DNF after his crash which caused the safety car.

Formula E returns tomorrow with another race at the same track.

Position Driver Team
1 Antonio Felix Da Costa DS Techeetah
2 Andre Lotterer Porsche
3 Sam Bird Virgin
4 Nyck De Vries Mercedes
5 Jerome D’Ambrosio Mahindra
6 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes
7 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams
8 Max Gunther BMW i-Andretti
9 Lucas Di Grassi Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler
10 Alex Sims BMW i-Andretti
11 Rene Rast Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler
12 Edo Mortara Venturi
13 Neel Jani Porsche
14 Alex Lynn Mahindra
15 Mitch Evans Jaguar
16 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams
17 James Calado Jaguar
18 Oliver Turvey NIO 333 Racing
19 Daniel Abt NIO 333 Racing
NC Jean Eric Vergne DS Techeetah
NC Sergio Sette Camara Dragon
NC Nico Muller Dragon
NC Felipe Massa Venturi
NC Robin Frijns Virgin