FE: Three victories in a row for Da Costa

It was a cruise for DS Techeetah’s Antonio Felix Da Costa to win the second Berlin E-Prix and further extend his championship lead. 

It was an ominous display for everyone on the Formula E grid looking at Da Costa’s impressive performance once again.

He took the maximum points yesterday and only missed out on the point for fastest lap today but overall that’s a swing of 59 points for Da Costa in two races to be on par with the same amount of points Vergne was on after 13 rounds last season but only after seven.

The fight behind for the other podium places was a lot more involved with former FE drivers’ champion Sebastien Buemi eventually taking second with a decent gap to third place.

Third place eventually went to Lucas Di Grassi. The fight for the final podium place was a race long battle between Robin Frijns and Di Grassi.

At the end, Stoffel Vandoorne and Sam Bird got involved too but were unable get past the other two to come home fifth and sixth respectively. Having started far down the field, both did strong drives to make it up.

Nyck de Vries (NLD), Mercedes Benz EQ, EQ Silver Arrow 01
Nyck De Vries leading Alex Lynn at the start of the race © FIA Formula E

The rest of the race was relatively tame, especially for Formula E standards.

Oliver Rowland finished where he started in seventh after sparring with those who finished ahead. He held off Edoardo Mortara who only just got to the end on usable energy.

Andre Lotterer and a very irritated Jean-Eric Vergne rounded out the points; a third championship slipping away very noticeably for him.

Alex Lynn, who started in third position, suffered with the poorer efficiency of the Mahindra and finished just out of the points.

Mitch Evans had another finish with no points with his championship challenge also taking a hit.

Rene Rast climbed from pitlane to 13th which was a very good showing for the Audi new boy. Nico Muller and Jerome D’Ambrosio were 14th and 15th.

Neel Jani was 16th, Daniel Abt, 17th and Sergio Sette Camara in 18th.

Oliver Turvey was 19th and Alex Sims are far off 20th, another championship contender who has taken a hit from Da Costa’s other level showing.

James Calado was the last classified finisher with Felipe Massa running out of energy on the final lap.

Max Gunther took damage in the start and ended up a lap down before retiring close to the end. Nyck De Vries retired part way through the race, pushing his car off the track to keep the race going.

At the moment it looks like no one can stop Da Costa, it is firmly his championship to lose in his dominant form.

Position Driver Team
1 Antonio Felix Da Costa DS Techeetah
2 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams
3 Lucas Di Grassi Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler
4 Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing
5 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes-Benz EQ
6 Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing
7 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams
8 Edo Mortara ROKiT Venturi Racing
9 Andre Lotterer Tag Heuer Porsche
10 Jean Eric Vergne DS Techeetah
11 Alex Lynn Mahindra Racing
12 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing
13 Rene Rast Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler
14 Nico Muller GEOX Dragon
15 Jerome D’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing
16 Neel Jani Tag Heuer Porsche
17 Daniel Abt NIO 333 Racing
18 Sergio Sette Camara GEOX Dragon
19 Oliver Turvey NIO 333 Racing
20 Alex Sims BMW-i Andretti Motorsport
21 James Calado Panasonic Jaguar Racing
Not Classified Felipe Massa ROKiT Venturi Racing
Not Classified Max Gunther BMW-i Andretti Motorsport
Not Classified Nyck De Vries Mercedes-Benz EQ