FE: Jean-Éric Vergne takes pole for DS Techeetah

Reigning champion Jean-Éric Vergne claimed pole position for the third Berlin E-Prix took place at the traditional Tempelhof Airport Street Circuit.

Vergne’s flying lap was nearly five tenths of a second ahead of second place qualifier Max Gunther, who sits on the front row ahead of Jerome D’Ambrosio and Stoffel Vandoorne, the latter driver locking up during his Super Pole lap.

Vandoorne asserted his pace to make it to Super-Pole from the undesired Qualifying Group 1.

Vergne acknowledged his position to not be likely to claim a third consecutive title, but is keen on ensuring DS Techeetah can claim their second constructors’ championship.

Alex Lynn qualified in fifth place behind his team-mate in third, ensuring that both Mahindra cars are starting at the front of the pack.

Robin Frijns put down a fast Super-Pole lap to set a lap-time just over nine-tenths behind Vergne’s DS Techeetah.

André Lotterer was amongst those in super-pole contention but fell out of the bubble (top-six places) to get into that session. He will start seventh on the grid.

Mercedes-Benz EQ’s Nyck De Vries qualified in eighth after a swift lap, however he faces a five-place grid penalty from when he got out and pushed his car at the previous round (when he retired).

Championship leader António Félix Da Costa qualified in ninth ahead of Nissan e.Dams’ Oliver Rowland.

Fellow championship contender Lucas Di Grassi qualified in tenth ahead of an impressive performance by Sérgio Sette Câmara, followed by the two ROKiT Venturis.

Buemi struggled to set a competent lap that sees him amongst the Panasonic Jaguars, who have been struggling to assert the pace they had months ago.

Rene Rast in his Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler qualified just ahead of Daniel Abt and Nico Muller.

Oliver Turvey rounds off the field to qualify in 24th place on the grid.

Position Driver Team Time
1 (Super-Pole) Jean-Éric Vergne DS Techeetah 1.06.277
2 (Super-Pole) Max Gunther BMW i Andretti Motorsport 1:06.772
3 (Super-Pole) Jerome D’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing 1:06.825
4 (Super-Pole) Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes-Benz EQ 1.06.965
5 (Super-Pole) Alex Lynn Mahindra Racing 1:07.177
6 (Super-Pole) Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing 1:07.180
7 André Lotterer Tag Heuer Porsche 1:06.867
8 Nyck De Vries Mercedes-Benz EQ 1.06.907
9 Antonio Felix Da Costa DS Techeetah 1.06.938
10 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.Dams 1.06.947
11 Lucas Di Grassi Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 1.06.960
12 Sérgio Sette Câmara GEOX Dragon 1.06.077
13 Felipe Massa ROKiT Venturi Racing 1.06.090
14 Edoardo Mortara ROKiT Venturi Racing 1.07.098
15 Sébastien Buemi Nissan e.Dams 1:07.140
16 Alexander Sims BMW i Andretti Motorsport 1.07.141
17 James Calado Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1.07.147
18 Neel Jani Tag Heuer Porsche 1.07.193
19 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing 1.07.197
20 Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing 1.07.208
21 Rene Rast Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 1.07.261
22 Daniel Abt NIO 333 Racing 1.07.331
23 Nico Muller GEOX Dragon 1.07.366
24 Oliver Turvey NIO 333 1:07.521