FE: Da Costa wins title, Vergne wins the race, sublime from DS Techeetah

Jean-Eric Vergne won the fourth Berlin E-Prix in a controlled 1-2 with his teammate Antonio Felix Da Costa winning the Season 6 title. 

Vergne and Da Costa worked together to take the best possible result for the team, only missing out on the point for fastest lap.

They clinched both the Drivers Championship and the Teams Championship with two rounds still to run. Absolutely dominant form from the team that has nailed the return to racing in Formula E.

They have won four out of the last five races, taking pole in all of them.

Vergne and Da Costa led from the front row together keeping their only challengers, the Nissans, behind.

They swapped positions mid race giving Da Costa the lead in order to put Vergne in the slipstream to aid with energy management and later on swapped back to equal it out and give Vergne the win after he did the job in qualifying with pole position.

The whole race was carried out with precision and clarity which can normally cede to chaos in Formula E, as it did on Wednesday, but Techeetah kept cool and deserved to win both championships.

Sebastien Buemi was a very close third with the Nissans being on the tail of the Techeetahs all race.

Rowland led their charge but could not get past and swapped with Buemi close to the end to try something different.

Buemi could not get past and had to conserve energy at the end allowing the Techeetahs to cruise in the final few corners.

1-EPS609_184957_FER3283 (2)
Jean-Eric Vergne crosses the line to win the race, Da Costa is behind winning the title © FIA Formula E

Rowland lost out to De Vries after a last-lap dive from the Mercedes driver secured him fourth.

Lucas Di Grassi finished sixth making his way up the field and having a quiet race for the most part.

Mitch Evans and Andre Lotterer climbed through the field from lowly grid positions to finish seventh and eighth.

Alex Lynn took his first points since his return a few rounds ago in ninth and Felipe Massa took the final point for Venturi.

Massa made a demon move on Evans and Lynn earlier on sending it into the final corner and managing to get it stopped when it looked like he had no chance. Ultimately though he lost out to both.

Sam Bird was in 11th with Stoffel Vandoorne behind him and Alex Sims in 13th.

Edo Mortara was 14th, followed by Jerome D’Ambrosio and Rene Rast. Rast was very punchy in the early phases of the race but his inexperience in the championship aided his rivals as the race went on.

James Calado finished 17th and Daniel Abt was 18th ahead of Neel Jani.

Nico Muller, Sergio Sette Camara and Oliver Turvey rounded out those who finished the race.

Yesterday’s race winner Max Gunther crashed out on the first lap after hitting the back of Turvey as everyone braked for the tight turn three. He received a three-place grid drop for the next race on Wednesday.

Robin Frijns was unable to make the start after a fault was discovered.

Despite the championship being rounded up, there are still two more races on a brand new track on Wednesday and Thursday to round out Season 6 of Formula E.

Position Driver Team
1 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah
2 Antonio Felix Da Costa DS Techeetah
3 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams
4 Nyck De Vries Mercedes
5 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams
6 Lucas Di Grassi Audi
7 Mitch Evans Jaguar
8 Andre Lotterer Porsche
9 Alex Lynn Mahindra
10 Felipe Massa Venturi
11 Sam Bird Virgin
12 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes
13 Alex Sims BMW-i Andretti
14 Edo Mortara Venturi
15 Jerome D’Ambrosio Mahindra
16 Rene Rast Audi
17 James Calado Jaguar
18 Daniel Abt NIO
19 Neel Jani Porsche
20 Nico Muller Dragon
21 Sergio Sette Camara Dragon
22 Oliver Turvey NIO
DNF Max Gunther BMW-i Andretti
DNS Robin Frijns Virgin