FE: Vergne pips Da Costa to Berlin IV Pole

Jean Eric Vergne beat his teammate Antonio Felix Da Costa to make it a DS Techeetah front row for the second race on the traditional Berlin Tempelhof circuit.

Vergne topped the group stages of qualifying and carried that pace over to beat a seemingly unstoppable Da Costa.

Da Costa set his time at the beginning of the super pole session and no one beat it until his teammate came on at the end to beat him by just over a tenth.

It’s a Nissan e.dams second row with Oliver Rowland just ahead of his teammate Sebastien Buemi.

Nyck De Vries was on a very fast lap but a late lock up in the lap meant he could only manage fifth.

Felipe Massa had a stellar performance to get his Venturi into super pole. He will start sixth.

Alex Lynn and Rene Rast missed out on super pole appearances right at the death of Group 4 and line up seventh and eighth respectively.

Jerome D’Ambrosio starts behind his teammate in ninth alongside Robin Frijns in 10th.

Mitch Evans was the second highest Group 1 runner in 11th fractionally ahead of Lucas Di Grassi and the Venturi of Edo Mortara.¬†Evans’ teammate James Calado will start 14th.

Nico Muller put his Dragon in 15th ahead of Alex Sims and Sam Bird.

Andre Lotterer was 18th, Oliver Turvey, 19th and Stoffel Vandoorne in 20th.

Yesterday’s winner Max Gunther will start 21st after finishing bottom of Group 1 ahead of the Porsche of Neel Jani, NIO of Daniel Abt and Dragon of Sergio Sette Camara.

Position Driver Team
1 Jean Eric Vergne DS Techeetah
2 Antonio Felix Da Costa DS Techeetah
3 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams
4 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams
5 Nyck De Vries Mercedes
6 Felipe Massa Venturi
7 Alex Lynn Mahindra
8 Rene Rast Audi
9 Jerome D’Ambrosio Mahindra
10 Robin Frijns Virgin
11 Mitch Evans Jaguar
12 Lucas Di Grassi Audi
13 Edo Mortara Venturi
14 James Calado Jaguar
15 Nico Muller Dragon
16 Alex Sims BMW-i Andretti
17 Sam Bird Virgin
18 Andre Lotterer Porsche
19 Oliver Turvey NIO
20 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes
21 Max Gunther BMW-i Andretti
22 Neel Jani Porsche
23 Daniel Abt NIO
24 Sergio Sette Camara Dragon