FE: Rowland controls penultimate Berlin race to take first win

Oliver Rowland of Nissan e.Dams kept Robin Frijns at arms-length to control this evening’s race in Berlin and take his first win in Formula E.

It’s been a long time coming for Rowland who had a very strong rookie season for Nissan last year taking numerous podiums and pole positions but never winning the race.

The pole-sitter and the big-hitters beginning further down the order after a qualifying farce meant it was Rowland’s to lose and he never looked under threat.

Rowland is now second in the championship after the 29-point swing. He has a three point advantage to Jean-Eric Vergne in the standings.

Oliver Rowland (GBR), Nissan e.Dams, Nissan IMO2 celebrates his victory
Oliver Rowland crosses the line to win the race – Credit: FIA Formula E

Second place went to Frijns who was just able to keep touch with Rowland all race but ultimately couldn’t take the fight. He had only one chance for the lead when he nearly undercut him on the first Attack Mode split but Rowland, ever the aggressor, was having none of it and carried on with his straightforward drive.

Rene Rast took a brilliant third place after a very committed move on Andre Lotterer on the final lap as Lotterer was low on energy. Rast, who was only promoted to the team five races ago for the Berlin stint, has taken positively to Formula E to take his first podium.

Alex Lynn was finally able to capitalise on a strong qualifying performance and managed his energy perfectly to make the move on Neel Jani close to the end to secure fifth place.

Neel Jani scored his first points of the season coming home sixth after starting third which is a hell of a result for him after a year in which he has struggled a lot.

As a result, Porsche claimed their first double points finish in Formula E.

Mitch Evans had a measured drive to seventh ahead of Edoardo Mortara. Stoffel Vandoorne made up a lot of places to finish in the points after a difficult qualifying for the Mercedes team.

Sebastien Buemi rounded out the points finishers as the only driver of the back four (championship front runners) who didn’t set times in qualifying to survive coming through the field.

Alex Sims was scrapping on the fringes of the points all race and just missed out in 11th ahead of debutant Tom Blomqvist who was impressive to stay in touch with the points in such a difficult series.

Felipe Massa was 13th ahead of Nyck De Vries, Sergio Sette Camara and Jerome D’Ambrosio.

Nico Muller was 17th ahead of Jean-Eric Vergne who was issued a drive through penalty for battery overcooling which ruined his comeback. Oliver Turvey was just behind.

Sam Bird was involved in first lap contact and had to pit to check his tyre pressures which confined him to the back for the whole race.

Lucas Di Grassi was behind after being penalised for an over-ambitious move on Antonio Felix Da Costa in which he cut across under breaking, trying to scare off Da Costa and getting himself spun round and put out of the comeback fight.

Max Gunther finished 32 laps down, but was classified because he came out of the pits after sitting there since receiving a puncture lap 1. He came out as a mini-shakedown for tomorrow’s race.

Da Costa was eventually not classified running out of energy at the very end of the race. Daniel Abt was also not classified in the results.

Position Driver Team
1 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams
2 Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing
3 Rene Rast Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler
4 Andre Lotterer Tag Heuer Porsche
5 Alex Lynn Mahindra Racing
6 Neel Jani Tag Heuer Porsche
7 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing
8 Edoardo Mortara ROKiT Venturi Racing
9 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes-Benz EQ
10 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams
11 Alex Sims BMW-i Andretti Motorsport
12 Tom Blomqvist Panasonic Jaguar Racing
13 Felipe Massa ROKiT Venturi Racing
14 Nyck De Vries Mercedes-Benz EQ
15 Sergio Sette Camara GEOX Dragon
16 Jerome D’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing
17 Nico Muller GEOX Dragon
18 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah
19 Oliver Turvey NIO 333 Racing
20 Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing
21 Lucas Di Grassi Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler
22 Antonio Felix Da Costa DS Techeetah
Not Classified Daniel Abt NIO 333 Racing
Not Classified Max Gunther BMW-i Andretti Motorsport