FE: Vandoorne takes pole ahead of final race

Stoffel Vandoorne took Mercedes-Benz EQ’s first pole in their debut Formula E season ahead of the final race in Berlin.

He first took pole in the HWA in Hong Kong last year on a drying track, but this is the first for the full-on works team.

Vandoorne is still in contention for second place in the championship and with rivals very far down the order but it is very tight; Oliver Rowland would need to score zero points.

Sebastien Buemi took the next position on the front row for yesterday’s winners, Nissan. He was fractionally off Vandoorne all lap and was disappointed after a very good lap.

Rene Rast continued his strong form in third with Nyck De Vries alongside after a double super-pole performance for Mercedes.

Robin Frijns and Edoardo Mortara rounded out the super-pole competitors in fifth and sixth on the grid.

Alex Lynn was three-thousandths off from super-pole contention in seventh and is just followed by Neel Jani who has had another late but good qualifying performance for Porsche.

Sergio Sette Camara was the highest placed of the Group 4 runners in his Dragon and Lucas Di Grassi rounds out the top 10.

Felipe Massa was not happy with his car reporting a lot of oversteer and ended up 11th with Tom Blomqvist in 12th continuing his great job as a late reserve call up for the Jaguar team.

Oliver Turvey continued to be the highest placed NIO with two Britons behind: Sam Bird in his final race with Envision Virgin and BMW’s Alex Sims.

Jerome D’Ambrosio was 16th, Daniel Abt 17th and Max Gunther, the highest of the group 1 performers, in 18th.

Group 1 proved a costly position for the drivers involved. Season 6 Champion Antonio Felix Da Costa was 19th and Andre Lotterer 20th.

Jean-Eric Vergne was 21st, Nico Muller, the only driver in the bottom six not from group 1, was 22nd and Mitch Evans was 23rd.

Oliver Rowland went from pole in yesterday’s qualifying to the last spot on the grid for today.

1 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes-Benz EQ
2 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams
3 Rene Rast Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler
4 Nyck De Vries Mercedes-Benz EQ
5 Robin Frijns Envision Virgin Racing
6 Edoardo Mortara ROKiT Venturi Racing
7 Alex Lynn Mahindra Racing
8 Neel Jani Tag Heuer Porsche
9 Sergio Sette Camara GEOX Dragon
10 Lucas Di Grassi Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler
11 Felipe Massa ROKiT Venturi Racing
12 Tom Blomqvist Panasonic Jaguar Racing
13 Oliver Turvey NIO 333
14 Sam Bird Envision Virgin Racing
15 Alex Sims BMW-i Andretti
16 Jerome D’Ambrosio Mahindra Racing
17 Daniel Abt NIO 333
18 Max Gunther BMW-i Andretti
19 Antonio Felix Da Costa DS Techeetah
20 Andre Lotterer Tag Heuer Porsche
21 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah
22 Nico Muller GEOX Dragon
23 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing
24 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams