Richard Mille Racing confirm first all-female LMP2 lineup for Le Mans

Richard Mille Racing has confirmed their all-female driver crew for their #50 LMP2 entry at next week’s 24 Hours of Le Mans.

Tatiana Calderon, Sophia Floersch and Beitske Visser will attend the 88th edition of the historic event to be the first all-female LMP driver lineup.

Floersch, as well as the other two, are set to debut at the event as a Le Mans rookie, having established a career in a number of Formula/single-seater championships (currently racing in the FIA Formula 3 championship).

Embed from Getty Images

She recently put herself into the endurance discipline as she debuted at the European Le Mans Series’ recent Le Castellet 240 race (Round 3), as she raced as a duo with Visser (Calderon fulfilled Super Formula commitments in the meantime).

Following Katherine Legg’s crash at the ELMS pre-season test, the team’s Le Mans and future endurance pursuits were in doubts after she suffered leg fractures from her accident at Signes corner.

Andre Negrao took over for the first round of the ELMS, with Vasser taking part in the next two.

The #50 finished in 6th at the 4 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps in the hands of Calderon, Negrao, and Visser. They finished 11th at the Le Castellet 240 in the hands of Visser and Floersch.

The trio of Calderon, Floersch, and Visser will add to the total number of Le Mans ’24 female entrants (in the WEC era) to 10 drivers.

The team are also backed by the FIA’s Women in Racing initiative, who look to encourage more female competitors amongst a variety of championships.

Richard Mille’s second all-female crew lies in the Iron Lynx’s Ferrari 488 GTE Evo entry in LM GTE-Am category.

The team participated in the 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual event on 13-14 June earlier this year, in which Calderon, Floersch and Legge all took part in.

They will look to fight for class victory at the historic race against their 23 fellow LMP2 competitors, amongst whom are the reigning Le Mans ’24 champions and WEC regulars Signatech Alpine Matmut.