8H Bahrain: #7 Toyota claims final win of LMP1 era, Jackie Chan DC Racing takes hard-fought LMP2 victory

Toyota GAZOO Racing secured the last win of the LMP1 era and a 1-2 finish by the end of the 8 Hours of Bahrain, the final race of the season.

After four hours, the safety car in which had everyone pit, bunched up the order across the categories.

The #7 was almost two laps ahead of the sister competitor, but that gap was narrowed down to under 30 seconds for following stints.

Almost immediately, a familiar battle was reignited from the green flag between the leading #37 Jackie Chan DC Racing of Gabriel Aubry, and the following #22 United Autosports of Filipe Albuquerque and #38 JOTA of Antonio Felix Da Costa.

As the #37 and #22 were glued nose-to-tail until a pitstop with three hours and 29 minutes when the United car bumped the DC car on the approach to the pit-speed limit.

Albuquerque caused the #22 to receive a five-second penalty to be put on top of the next pitstop.

Paul Di Resta got back in as Will Stevens got back in the #37.

The earlier incident between the #51 and the #56 was concluded when that AF Corse was awarded a 10 second time penalty by the stewards.

As GTE-Am continued to all race on the same lap, an LMP2 battle sparked between the #22 and #29 for fourth with just over two hours remaining.

This was due to the #22 running out of fuel on the closing part of his in-lap, therefore creeping into the pitlane to commit to a pit stop.

A fierce battle in GTE-Am for sixth position in-class broke out between the #62 Vantage GTE and the #77 911 RSR GTE.

Eventually, the #77 driver of Dennis Olsen passed fellow gentlemen driver Bonamy Grimes in his #62.

The #95 Aston Martin Vantage GTE, and at the eighth hour point for the #90 AMR, both performed front brake changes.

The #83 which suffered towards the tail end of the field were given a chance to aim a finish in-front of the #90 in pursuit for the Drivers’ and Teams’ titles in GTE-Am.

in the final hour, the battle was still alive for the wins in LMP2, GTE-Pro, and GTE-Am.

In particular, a battle for the lead in LMP2 found itself to be intense in the last 30 minutes between the #37 and #38.

A quick in-lap and an identical one minute-long pit stop put Da Costa just ahead in his #38.

They battled nose-to-tail until the lead changed in the final 10 minutes with a brief moment of contact as they negotiated GTE traffic.

Aubrey got himself ahead of the reigning Formula E champion, to lead a 1-2 Goodyear finish.

Meanwhile, the #47 Cetilar Racing replaced an alternator and the brakes after they exploded thus ensuring that they would make it to the end.

The #95 ‘Dane-Train’ duo win the FIA GT World Endurance Championship for Drivers’, whilst the #83 driver crew win the drivers’ championship in GTE-Am.

Despite finishing in fourth (in-class), the #22 crew claimed the LMP2 Drivers’ Championship at Bahrain.

Toyota GAZOO Racing concluded an era of eight years in an LMP1, having been part of the Hybrid category since its beginning.

The #7 driver crew win the championship after finishing in first place.

The LMP1 will bow out of its official competition, and Toyota GAZOO Racing will return at Sebring in Le Mans Hypercar form.

There were no retirements from this eight-hour show.

1 #7 Toyota GAZOO Racing LMP1
2 #8 Toyota GAZOO Racing LMP1
3 #37 Jackie Chan DC Racing LMP2
4 #38 JOTA LMP2
5 #29 Racing Team Nederland LMP2
6 #22 United Autosports LMP2
7 #36 Signatech Alpine Elf LMP2
8 #92 Porsche GT Team GTE-Pro
9 #91 Porsche GT Team GTE-Pro
10 #71 AF Corse GTE-Pro
11 #97 Aston Martin Racing GTE-Pro
12 #95 Aston Martin Racing GTE-Pro
13 #56 Team Project 1 GTE-Am
14 #83 AF Corse GTE-Am
15 #88 Dempsey-Proton Racing GTE-Am
16 #54 AF Corse GTE-Am
17 #86 Gulf Racing GTE-Am
18 #57 Team Project 1 GTE-Am
19 #51 AF Corse GTE-Pro
20 #77 Dempsey-Proton Racing GTE-Am
21 #90 TF Sport GTE-Am
22 #98 Aston Martin Racing GTE-Am
23 #62 Red River Sport GTE-Am
24 #47 Cetilar Racing LMP2