Jani replaces Christensen in 2021 Porsche GTE-Pro lineup

Michael Christensen has been replaced by Neel Jani for Porsche’s GTE-Pro campaign for the 2021 season of the World Endurance Championship.

Amongst a shuffle of the Porsche GT racing lineups, Neel Jani will replace Michael Christensen to partner Kevin Estre.

Jani’s Formula E stint lasted one year after Pascal Wehrlein recently replaced him after claiming one (P6) points finish throughout the debut season.

Instead, Jani will be alongside fellow works driver and ex-FE driver Simona de Silvestro as reserves in Porsche’s committed future in the electric single-seater championship.

Porsche will continue to field two works-entered Porsche 911 RSRs in the WEC, but will race under the Manthey-Racing name as well as accompany a slightly altered lineup of pit crew.

The 2016 WEC (LMP) champion will join Estre in the #92 for a full-season campaign, whilst Gianmaria Bruni will be accompanied by Richard Lietz once again in the #91.

His last WEC appearance was a return to Rebellion Racing in the 2018/19 Super-Season which followed four previous years at Porsche’s LMP1 programme.

This will be his first WEC GTE commitment, apart from the 24 Hours of Le Mans Virtual, piloting only LMP1s since his debut in 2012.

He recently made a single GTLM appearance in IMSA’s season finale, the 12 Hours of Sebring, to conclude seven works-seasons for Porsche in the North-American championship.

Alongside #912 GTLM teammates Earl Bamber (joining Christensen’s loss of full-factory status) and Laurens Vanthoor, they managed to finish second in-class.

The opening round of WEC’s six races is expected to be on March 19th for the 1000 Miles of Sebring.

There are two days of pre-season testing will take place at the same track a week prior on the 13-14th.

The two Manthey-Racing cars are also expected to fulfill the German manufacturer’s pursuits on June 12-13th and the 24 Hours of Le Mans.