Castroneves joins WEC debutants Inter Europol Competition for opening Sebring round

Inter Europol Competition has confirmed three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves to join their debut efforts at the Sebring opening round in 2021.

The team have been European Le Mans Series regulars since 2016, and won the 2018/2019 Asian Le Mans Series.

They will make their move into the championship with an Oreca 07 at the 1000 Miles of Sebring opening round to the ninth edition of the World Endurance Championship.

Embed from Getty Images

Castroneves will make his singular appearance in place of Renger van der Zande, who has clashing DPi commitments in the IMSA WeatherTech Sportscar championship.

The Brazilian said: “I’m super excited to be able to race at the WEC with Inter Europol Competition for the Sebring race, we’ve been talking last year and now we were able to do something really special and hoping this could lead for more opportunities with the team.

“…After three years racing with DPi (in IMSA) it certainly prepared me for this challenge and I just can’t wait for 2021 to start.”

Dragonspeed, an LMP2 competitor returning to the WEC, also announced a former Indy 500 winner to join their lineup in the form of Juan Pablo Montoya.

Alex Brundle joins Castroneves having last raced in the WEC in 2017, and at Le Mans in 2020 for reigning LMP2 champions United Autosports.

“It’s great to be back racing on the world stage and at some circuits I really enjoy,” he commented.

“I’m certainly joining an impressive driver roster and I can’t wait to start pushing the car with Kuba (Śmiechowski – who had been competing in their 2020 ELMS campaign), Renger and Helio.”

Inter Europol Competition’s team manager, Sascha Fassbender, spoke highly motivated of their new campaign:

“I am proud of our team for being the first Polish team to compete in the WEC.”

“With Kuba, who is now contesting his third season in LMP2, and Renger and Alex, who can already look back on race victories in LMP2/DPI, we have put together a strong team.

The Season 9 Prologue (two pre-season testing days) will be on March 13-14, and the eight-hour long WEC opener will commence on March 19.