Conway keen to defend WEC title in Season 9 campaign

Mike Conway of the #7 Toyota GAZOO Racing Team is keen to defend his championship title having secured it at the Season 8 finale in Bahrain.

The Brit will be piloting under in a #7 car alike the previous three seasons of the WEC, only now in a Le Mans Hypercar.

“Everyone is excited to see the GR010 Hybrid racing for the first time.

“It’s always cool to drive a race car for the first time and a nice challenge to get used to all the small differences.”

The GR010 Hybrid sits at a capped-670 hp due to the regulations yet the aerodynamics are a different philosophy to its LMP1 predecessors.

“I have been surprised how good the car feels after just a few days testing; I already feel at home in it,” referring to prior testing later last year at Paul Ricard and Portimão (December).

“It is a fantastic experience to be part of racing developments which will be translated into future road cars,” as the GR010 Hybrid is based on their in-development GR Super Sport road car.

“The whole team is motivated by that and looking forward to show the car to the fans this season.

“To start the new season as World Champion is cool; it gives all three of us (teammates Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez) on #7 a nice boost.

“But it’s one thing to win a title and another to retain it. The goal is to win the championship again and also get the big one; Le Mans.

Unsurprisingly, his #7 teammates also suggested these targets as focal objectives with Kobayashi labelling ‘bad luck’ from prior years at Le Mans.

The success handicap system in play during Season 8 allowed the #7 to secure the championship at the 8 Hours of Bahrain finale in November 2020.

Their pursuit to defend the championship title begins at the 1000 Miles of Sebring opening round in March.

Whether it will take place has been in recent doubt in relation to global COVID circumstances that affect the travel admin for the teams/staff as well as a risk to their health.

In which case, it will be followed by the 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps and then the 24 Hours of Le Mans on June 12/13.