Alpine confirm LMH driver lineup – featuring Lapierre, Negrão, and Vaxivière

Alpine Elf Matmut has confirmed their trio of FIA WEC drivers who will compete in the new Le Mans Hypercar category for the 2021 season.

The team will enter the World Endurance Championship’s new Le Mans Hypercar class with drivers Nicolas Lapierre, André Negrão, and team newcomer Matthieu Vaxivière.

The will enter with a sole grandfathered-Rebellion R13 that will be rebadged as an Alpine A480 Gibson, still carrying their car number (#36) into LMH.

Team Manager at Alpine Elf Matmut, Philippe Sinault, said: “Today we have unveiled a new set of drivers up to the challenge Alpine is undertaking in the Hypercar class.

“We selected drivers who complement each other in terms of experience level and whose personalities ensure a spirit of cohesion at all times.”

They will compete against four other LMH cars; two Toyotas and two Glickenhaus machines.

Embed from Getty Images

The manufacturer have competed in the WEC since 2013 through their efforts in LMP2, having acquired two consecutive Le Mans victories during the Super-Season, and various other successes in the form of wins and podiums.

“While Nicolas [Lapierre] and André [Negrão] know each other well and have shown their ability to work together in support of the team, the choice of Matthieu Vaxivière was an obvious one given how much his personal character and speed are recognized in the paddock.”

Vaxivière is making his debut into the FIA WEC bringing a wealth of experience in single-seaters, with a European F4 title, and more recent sportscar experience in the ELMS, IMSA and his last four consecutive Le Mans participations.

His personal best at the event was in 2019 for TDS Racing and 2020 for Panis Racing where the Frenchman acquired third spots on the LMP2 podium.

“Rest assured, our three drivers are motivated like never before to help Alpine make its mark right from the A480’s first laps in the FIA WEC,” concluded Sinault.

The WEC is set to kick off in Portugal for the Prologue on March 30-31, and the 8 Hours of Portimão on April 4, that will commence the 2021 season.