In such a competitive field everyone can hope to win but the reality is, someone does have to lose. We all want everybody to do well but unfortunately there will be some drivers or teams who fail to succeed quite how we want them too.

The usually bubbly and exuberant Last-Lap team therefore have turned pessimistic and dour to give their opinions on who is going to be the biggest disappointment in Season 7 of Formula E.

Freddie Coates:

As much as I hate to say it, the very popular Sam Bird and Jaguar partnership. Bird has been the nearly man of all of Formula E, he is the only driver to win a race in every season (after Buemi and Di Grassi didn’t last year) but is the only one of the original crop of stars to not win the championship. I really do want that to change and think it would be amazing! But I don’t see any reason for it to change at Jaguar. The team have operated at a similar level to Envision Virgin in recent years with Mitch Evans at the helm. The team will undoubtedly do much better with Bird there and will stop being the one-man team they have been since they started but it won’t bring the championship glory both parties are after. Maybe a fourth in the Teams championship rather than a seventh but I think that would be disappointing for what is one of the biggest team moves in Formula E history. We all want it to yield championships and frequent wins and maybe it will do in Season 8 but right now I think it’ll fall short.

Sam Bird does a burn out in the pit lane © FIA Formula E

Adam Dickinson:

Compared to the first answer, this could come from anywhere. After António Félix da Costa had such a storming season last year, anything below that would be a disappointment… so maybe him?

It’s a lottery really, but if he won’t be happy with anything below the level he showed he could reach in 2020 (which was so high, three wins in a row, in modern FE that should not be possible!) and he didn’t get his rumoured F1 practice session at Portimao in October, so he’s already starting off ahead of the rest of the field in the pessimism stakes.

The Pessimism Stakes sounds like a brilliant idea for a weekly feature, and I expect to see Formula E Editor Freddie Coates doing it every race weekend until Formula E folds or the end of time… whichever comes last.

Felix Da Costa
Antonio Felix Da Costa wins in Marrakech © DS Techeetah

Tayyib Abu:

The season’s biggest disappointment will be the Tag-Heuer Porsche team. When the VW group and its conglomerates decide to invest in motorsport, they expect success instantly. Last year Porsche struggled for consistency and speed. The team is winless in their Formula E tenure so far. That needs to change; otherwise, the programme will feel the heat from the bosses in Stuttgart. Andre Lotterer and teammate Pascal Wehrlein must deliver, and fast. Sadly, I don’t think they will. The team looked every bit like the new kids on the block last year. With a challenging and truncated offseason, it will be hard to improve in their sophomore year.

The 99X Electric with Andre Lotterer at the wheel © Porsche

Mo Rehman:

Audi. I hate to be pessimistic on their final year in the championship and it would be great to close Formula E on a positive high before their return to sportscar racing. Crucially, I don’t think they’ll feature in the fight for either titles’ which is a clear aim of theirs. Season 6 had Lucas Di Grassi and DTM champion René Rast each score a podium in Berlin but finishing sixth in the Teams’ standings has created a steep imaginary mountain to climb if they want to take on DS Techeetah like they suggest doing so. Maybe I will have to eat a slice of humble pie and they can prove me wrong in their last hurrah?

Lucas di Grassi © Audi

Adam Proud:

Pre-season testing in Valencia in December showed a field that was the closest it has been in the Series’ history, with all 24 runners within eight tenths of second, setting up Season 7 to be one of the closest yet. However, I think come the first couple of races, we may see this gap widen and the field become more spread out, with some drivers and teams dominating the championship, leaving others in the dust.

© FIA Formula E

Leave a Reply