Le Mans 24 Hours provisional entry list unveils 62 entries

The provisional entry list for the 89th 24 Hours of Le Mans has been unveiled featuring 62 cars over four different categories of the FIA WEC.

The recent calendar adjustments has rescheduled the Le Mans 24 Hours race for 21-22 August later in the Summer, and the 8 Hours of Portimão is set to take the original slot on 13 June.

All of the 32 WEC competitors will be joined by 25 other entries from several other sports car championships from all over the globe.

The Le Mans Hypercar class, due to debut into the FIA World Endurance Championship at the end of April for pre-season testing and 1 May for the 6 Hours of Spa.

It features the two Toyota GAZOO Racing petrol-hybrid LMHs, two Glickenhaus entries and Signatech Alpine’s grandfathered LMP1 car renamed as the Alpine A480 Gibson.

The GR010 Hybrid: A technical profile of Toyota’s new Le Mans Hypercar

There are 25 entries within LMP2, featuring an added third entry from reigning LMP2 winners United Autosports.

Fabio Scherer will make his Le Mans debut amongst many others, but in the reigning LMP2 class-winning #22 car alongside Paul Di Resta’s former teammates Filipe Albuquerque and Phil Hanson.

An added ‘innovative car’ entry will join LMP2 with Association SRT41 returning after the disabled driver crew were unable to prepare due to COVID-19.

Belgian ex-motocross rider Nigel Bailly, former Japanese MotoGP and Superbike rider Takuma Aoki are confirmed as drivers far to race the ‘Garage 56’ entry (a team utilising the rarely used 56th garage at Le Mans); a first since 2016.

Team Owner/Founder and quadruple amputee Frédéric Sausset is expected to complete the line-up.

Embed from Getty Images

In GTE-Pro, there will be seven total cars competing for the class win.

WEC regulars Ferrari and Porsche will be have two cars each joined by WeatherTech Racing, using Porsche 911 RSR GTE-19.

Corvette Racing, who were forced to miss last year’s Le Mans for the first time since 1999, are preparing to debut their C8.R at the race.

There will be 24 GTE-Am cars competing for the Le Mans victory, including three entries from reigning class winners TF Sport, with one being in partnership with WEC and Le Mans debutants D’station Racing.

Click here to see the full entry list for the 24 Hours of Le Mans on 21-22 August later this year.