Doha GP: Quartararo tops FP3 in dusty track conditions

Yamaha’s Fabio Quartararo topped the timesheets in FP3, with track conditions that looked like that of an Extreme E session.

FP3 brought very tricky conditions for the riders to deal with, with sand blowing over the circuit.

Few riders made their way out on track when the session began, with most choosing to watch from the pit-lane as those who went out navigated the sandy track.

At the half-way mark of the session, only 12 of the 22 riders had completed more than three laps, the fastest being Joan Mir’s 1m56.450s time.

As FP3 progressed, more riders made their way out, and with the conditions looking very likely to continue through the weekend, getting a feel for the sandier track will be crucial.

As was expected, no riders were able to improve upon their lap-times from FP2 yesterday, meaning those who set the top-ten fastest times will go straight into Q2 later on today.

The two Suzuki’s were on top as the session winded down, however Quartararo put in a 1m56.064s lap to go top, 0.283s faster than Alex Rins.

Unsurprisingly in the warmer FP3 conditions, Joan Mir was unable to set a lap fast enough to progress straight in Q2, the Suzuki rider ended the session in third ahead of Danilo Petrucci.

Maverick Vinales finished in fifth, 0.013s faster than Franco Morbidelli, with Enea Bastianini in seventh.

Alex Marquez ended FP3 in eighth, ahead of Valentino Rossi and Honda’s Pol Espargaro.

The two KTM’s of Miguel Oliveira and Brad Binder were next in 11th and 12th, with Iker Lecuona in 13th.

Pecco Bagnaia was the second and final Ducati powered bike to set a lap in FP3, the Italian finished in 14th ahead of Lorenzo Savadori.

Stefan Bradl ended FP3 in 16th, ahead of the final to riders two set a lap-time in Aleix Espargaro and Taka Nakagami.

Johann Zarco said it was “not a good idea” to head out in the current conditions, Luca Marini, Jack Miller and Jorge Martin joined him in not setting a lap-time in FP3.

Riders through to Q2

  • Jack Miller
  • Pecco Bagnaia
  • Johann Zarco
  • Fabio Quartararo
  • Jorge Martin
  • Aleix Espargaro
  • Franco Morbidelli
  • Alex Rins
  • Maverick Vinales
  • Stefan Bradl