Stoffel Vandoorne will start on pole position for the Rome E-Prix after the supreme Oliver Rowland breaks his rear suspension at the final corner. 

Vandoorne set a 1m38.484s which Rowland was beating all the way round the lap. He was fastest in sector 1 and 2 and was flirting with the across the whole lap.

But at the final corner he clipped the wall and bumped over the line. Rowland did set a good enough time to go third but pole was there for the taking.

Andre Lotterer is on the front row with Vandoorne in second for Porsche. He was disappointed with his lap and called it “sketchy”. He did clip the wall and was carrying around advertising most of the lap so the end up only a tenth and a half off pole shows how good the lap could have been.

Lucas Di Grassi was fourth only fractionally behind Rowland’s compromised time and is going to be on a charge in the race along with the two time champion Jean-Eric Vergne who is in fifth.

Max Günther was sixth in Super Pole but a five place grid penalty for a collision last race means he starts 11th.

So starting in sixth is the pole-sitter from the last race, Robin Frijns, who is the highest placed of the Group 1 qualifiers. He is just ahead of championship leader Nyck De Vries.

Pascal Wehrlein continued good form for his new team Porsche and will start eighth with Sebastien Buemi only managing tenth fastest (so ninth after penalties) from Group 4. Buemi was impacted by a late session shower which slowed a lot of cars down at the death of the session.

Diriyah winner Sam Bird is 10th, starting ahead of Günther with the other Jaguar of Mitch Evans in 11th. Alex Lynn and Norman Nato were two of those affected by the late session drizzle and are 13th and 14th.

Lynn’s Mahindra teammate, Alexander Sims, is directly behind him in 15th with the Penske Dragons, Sergio Sette Camara and Nico Müller, unable to replicate their Diriyah form with their new car in 16th and 17th.

Antonio Felix Da Costa smashed the wall near the end of his lap and bent his steering column but finished the lap and will start 18th ahead of Tom Blomqvist and Jake Dennis.

René Rast spun at T14 on his lap and Nick Cassidy clipped the wall at T13 which ruined both of their fast laps putting them 21st and 22nd.

Edo Mortara was unable to start a lap time because of a car issue prior to the start of Group 1 and Oliver Turvey was unable to get his car repaired after a monster crash in FP1.

Leave a Reply