FE rookie Jake Dennis took his debut victory in the series at today’s Valencia E-Prix after mastering a very economical yet fast drive. 

Energy saving was the name of the game today and nobody wanted to lead. If you lead that means you’re the one breaking the tow and the cars behind you have an easier job with the slipstream benefit.

Dennis was supreme in his ability to keep himself at the same energy whilst the other drivers behind him tried to put pressure on him whilst they could save energy much more easily. Dennis was trying to get Alex Lynn in second to overtake him but Lynn just sat behind and let Dennis lead.

Dennis coped with this and it all kicked off behind which gave Dennis the perfect chance to keep himself to target and not have to worry about the cars behind.

Norman Nato, who was running third, bashed into Lynn and knocked him off so he dropped down to seventh. Nato was given a penalty but still tried to hold onto second. Dennis let the inevitable gap behind him close and let his rivals use more energy so he came across the line to take a brilliant victory.

The only point that Dennis didn’t get was the fastest lap point. He got 25 for the win, 3 for pole and 1 for group qualifying.

© FIA Formula E

Second place went to Andre Lotterer in a performance worthy of his pace. He has shown pace all season but has had scrappy and eventful races which have knocked him down the order frequently so to see him perform well was welcome and a podium for Porsche is brilliant.

Third went to Lynn who fought his way back through the field expertly allowing cars that had overtaken him such as René Rast and Oliver Rowland to mess around with each other and lose energy. He took his first ever podium but it could’ve been so much more for him.

Rowland came home fourth in the end and scraped through on energy at the flag. He did very well to make it up through the field in what has become his trademark. He was ahead of Norman Nato who was fifth after his penalty was applied in what is a second race where he has finished on the podium on the road but been unable to stand on it due to a penalty.

© FIA Formula E

René Rast fought his way up from 14th on the grid to contention for the podium and finished sixth. He had some superb overtakes and played it very well with a super efficient driving style mixed with the brilliant Audi car.

Jean-Eric Vergne didn’t make much of an impression starting in the middle of the points and finishing there. Oliver Turvey scored points for the NIO333 team benefitting from a very mature drive and a very good qualifying for them.

Edo Mortara and Lucas Di Grassi rounded out the points. Again, two mature drivers.

No championship contenders scored points with Stoffel Vandoorne being the only retirement after he came to blows with Sebastien Buemi after some very tight defence. Nyck De Vries, Sam Bird, Robin Frijns and Mitch Evans all flirted with the points at stages but it was a tough ask considering they started so far down the order.

1 Jake Dennis BMW-i Andretti
2 Andre Lotterer Porsche
3 Alex Lynn Mahindra
4 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams
5 Norman Nato Venturi
6 René Rast Audi
7 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah
8 Oliver Turvey NIO333
9 Edo Mortara Venturi
10 Lucas Di Grassi Audi
11 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams
12 Max Günther BMW-i Andretti
13 Nick Cassidy Envision Virgin
14 Sam Bird Jaguar
15 Mitch Evans Jaguar
16 Nyck De Vries Mercedes
17 Tom Blomqvist NIO333
18 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
19 Robin Frijns Envision Virgin
20 Nico Müller Dragon Penske
21 Sergio Sette Camara Dragon Penske
22 Antonio Felix Da Costa DS Techeetah
23 Alexander Sims Mahindra
DNF Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes

Leave a Reply