Monaco FE: Antonio Felix Da Costa takes pole in supremely tight session

Antonio Felix Da Costa took his second pole position of the year in a tight qualifying session where he was only 0.012s ahead of Robin Frijns.

Frijns was the man to beat having topped the group stages with a strong lap from Group 1 but a smooth run from Da Costa was just enough to beat him.

The top four were split by 0.059s with Mitch Evans third and Jean-Eric Vergne in fourth. It really could be quite a race.

Group 1:

Championship leader Nyck De Vries was hit by Sam Bird on the warm-up lap when he went very slowly through Portier. Jaguar were not happy and Mitch Evans accused him of blocking them to make it harder for them to set a lap-time.

Eventually everyone got round and De Vries lost power halfway through the lap and ended up bottom of the first group with nearly a second and a half to Robin Frijns who blitzed the field going fastest with a 1m32.638s.

Top 6 after G1: FRI, EVA, RAS, VAN, BIR, DEV.

Group 2:

There was not much track evolution in the second qualifying session with nobody superseding the immense times from Frijns and Evans in Group 1.

The 2019 Monaco E-Prix winner Jean-Eric Vergne was the closest with the pole-sitter from that event fractionally behind.

Top 6 after G2: FRI, EVA, VER, ROW, WEH, RAS.


Group 3:

The times of Frijns and Evans still were standing at the end of Group 3 too, they hooked it up in Group 1 and were starting to become favourites to fight for the race victory.

Antonio Felix Da Costa looked like he would be able to mix it at the top and he was fractionally behind Evans with Group 4 still to run. At the end it was two tenths between the top 6.

Top 6 after G3: FRI, EVA, DAC, VER, ROW, CAS.

Group 4:

There were some big names still to run in Group 4 with former Monaco poleman Sebastien Buemi, champion Lucas Di Grassi and race winner in Season 6, Max Günther.

Sergio Sette Camara spun at the end of his lap and the back of his car whacked into the wall at Anthony Nogues. The session was red flagged before Tom Blomqvist and Sebastien Buemi finished their lap so they were able to go out again but they did not trouble the top guys.

Only Günther managed to get into Super Pole from G4. All of the cars that set a representative lap-time were within a second with only Sette Camara and De Vries outside.

Super Pole: FRI, EVA, GUN, DAC, VER, ROW.

Super Pole:

Oliver Rowland did an incredibly exciting lap but due to the quick turnaround from the late end of Group 4, they just missed the red light at the pitlane so his lap-time was disqualified and he starts sixth.

They were incredibly critical of the short amount of time they had to get it turned around.

Jean-Eric Vergne went next with a classy and clean lap which was just bested by his teammate Da Costa immediately after.

Max Günther felt the impact of having just run in Group 4 because his tyres were not cooperating as they had not properly cooled down; he was sliding around the whole lap.

Mitch Evans attempted to tame his Jaguar in a balls to the wall lap, he split the DS Techeetahs with only six hundredths between the top three.

Frijns went next with a thrilling lap as they all seem to be at Monaco and he ended up 0.012s behind Da Costa to restart his championship fight with rivals Bird, De Vries and Vandoorne way down the field.

The race is in three hours, just after the F1 qualifying (if that goes to plan).

1 Antonio Felix Da Costa DS Techeetah
2 Robin Frijns Envision Virgin
3 Mitch Evans Jaguar
4 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Techeetah
5 Max Günther BMW-i Andretti
6 Oliver Rowland Nissan e.dams
7 Nick Cassidy Envision Virgin
8 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
9 Alex Lynn Mahindra
10 Norman Nato Venturi
11 René Rast Audi
12 Alex Sims Mahindra
13 Sebastien Buemi Nissan e.dams
14 Jake Dennis BMW-i Andretti
15 Stoffel Vandoorne Mercedes
16 Sam Bird Jaguar
17 Lucas Di Grassi Audi
18 Edoardo Mortara Venturi
19 Andre Lotterer Porsche
20 Nico Müller Dragon Penske
21 Tom Blomqvist NIO333
22 Oliver Turvey NIO333
23 Nyck De Vries Mercedes
NC Sergio Sette Camara Dragon Penske