Italian GP: Quartararo converts pole to win in Mugello

On a sombre day in the MotoGP paddock, Fabio Quartararo converted pole to victory as he mastered the Mugello racetrack and the Italian Grand Prix.

Yamaha rider Fabio Quartararo took a dominant and emotional victory at today’s Italian GP. The Yamaha rider aced the start and controlled the race from therein. The Frenchman sealed his third win of the season to enhance his championship position.

The home Ducati bikes seemed poised to challenge Quartararo all race long. Sadly, the Ducati’s couldn’t beat the Yamaha off the line and may have lost a critical advantage.

Pecco Bagnaia chased and pushed Quartararo in the early phase before he crashed on the approach to the fast Arrabbiata corner. The championship leader ended up in the gravel trap and out of the race.

Jack Miller’s race pace was non-existent as the Australian came home in a solid if unspectacular sixth place. It was an excellent day for KTM as Miguel Oliveira bagged his first podium of the season. Reigning world champion Joan Mir rounded out the podium places with a solid drive to get ahead of Johann Zarco. KTM’s other rider Brad Binder underlined a strong weekend for the Austrian team as he came home in fifth.

Once again, Maverick Vinales disappointed in the race as he finished a lowly eighth place, nowhere near his teammate Quartararo. Conversely, it turned out to be a solid day for Valentino Rossi’s satellite Yamaha. The Doctor finished tenth; he passed Iker Lecuona in the late stages of the race.

Along with Bagnaia’s crash, there were several other incidents and crashes that littered the action. Marc Marquez went down at the first chicane, Alex Rins crashed for the fourth consecutive race, while there was a bizarre coming together between Enea Bastianini and Johann Zarco on the formation lap.

In the end, on a sad day for everyone connected with Moto GP, Fabio Quartararo put in a controlled, professorial performance to win the race.

The Frenchman is the man to beat in the early stages of the 2021 MotoGP championship.