Credit: BTCC

A thrilling finale, to a brilliant day of racing at Snetterton after Tom Ingram took in his first race win this season at EXCELR8 TBC.

Tom Ingram drove a flawless race from start to finish to make his way onto the top step of the podium.

With constant pressure from main title rival Ash Sutton, he battled him off to claim Hyundai’s first ever win in the BTCC, as well as Ingram’s first win with EXCELR8 Motorsport.

A driver who had the opposite of Ingram’s success in round six of the championship was Tom Oliphant. Himself and his teammate Stephen Jelley were one and two at the start of the second lap, but sadly it would go no further.

Read more:

Jelley started breaking at an unusual point that caught his teammate Oliphant out- consequently the second BMW went into the back of the first, allowing Tom Ingram through, and spinning Oliphant into the path of Ollie Jackson.

Carl Boardley was another retirement after coming together with Jackson. He was forced into retirement due to mechanical failure.

Gordon Shedden was able to climb from sixth on the grid all the way up to third, fighting throughout the race and very nearly getting to Ash Sutton in the dying stages of the race.

Josh Cook was off the pace this weekend, however the BTC Honda driver switched on for the third race and was setting fastest laps throughout the first half of the race.

He struggled getting past the likes of Rory Butcher and Colin Turkington however, so his race pace was lost in the traffic.

By Lap 7, Ingram had managed to pull a one second gap to Sutton in second, and by Lap 9 he’d made that two seconds.

Sutton soon started to close him down but couldn’t reach the Hyundai driver in time with 75 kg of weight onboard the Infiniti.

The only source of action in the final three laps of the race came for the battle for second place.

Shedden was determined to get past the weighted down Sutton, however any move he sized up or went for, Sutton always had a fair answer ready.

Jess Hawkins finished a respectable P23 by the end of the third race.

1 Tom Ingram EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
2 Ashley Sutton Laser Tools Racing
3 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics
4 Josh Cook BTC Racing
5 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C)
6 Rory Butcher Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
7 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C)
8 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport
9 Jack Goff Team HARD
10 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics
11 Chris Smiley EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
12 Jake Hill MB Motorsport (C)
13 Dan Lloyd Power Maxed Racing
14 Aron Taylor-Smith Team HARD
15 Jade Edwards BTC Racing
16 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C)
17 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing
18 Jason Plato Power Maxed Racing
19 Tom Chilton Ciceley Motorsport
20 Sam Osborne Motorbase Performance (C)
21 Jack Butel EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
22 Glynn Geddie Team HARD
23 Jessica Hawkins Motorbase Performance (C)
24 Rick Parfitt EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
25 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD
26 Senna Proctor BTC Racing
27 Sam Smelt Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
28 Ollie Jackson MB Motorsport (C)
29 Carl Boardley Team HARD


Leave a Reply