Credit: BTCC

Ash Sutton has won the fifth round the British Touring Car Championship after an astonishing drive to climb from eleventh on the grid.

Off the line in Race 2, pole-sitter Colin Turkington had a strong start. However, third-placed Ollie Jackson had a better launch, gaining two places from his grid slot before Turn 5.

Glynn Geddie and Rick Parfitt had the first proper contact of the weekend at the hairpin, Geddie was forced into early retirement with broken rear suspension and Parfitt was was also advised to retire. Both drivers were out before lap 2.  Jade Edwards had to take serious evasive action to avoid the crash.

Tom Chilton was the only other retirement, with severe front-end damage after being caught up in the Geddie-Parfitt accident.

Aiden Moffat had a challenging race after he was given a 10-second penalty for missing the starting grid slots, however this would be amended to a five-second penalty towards the end of the race on lap 10 to put him down to P10.

Sutton claimed the fastest lap in his Infiniti, putting himself up to sixth from P11 on the grid on lap four, before quickly disposing of Rory Butcher and Ollie Jackson on the following lap for P4.

The Infiniti driver then sent a move up the inside of Tom Ingram at turn two which put him in the hunt for Colin Turkington.

Turkington was carrying a lot of extra weight in his BMW due to his previous win just a few hours before, consequently, Sutton was able to catch the Scotsman at over a second a lap.

Sutton passed Turkington for the lead of the race with relative ease and cruised home for his second victory of the season.

Ollie Jackson and Tom Ingram where door to door and bumper to bumper for the last four laps of the race, it came right down to the wire as to who would take that final podium spot.

However, Jackson was able to get the better run out of the final corner ahead of Ingram and claimed the podium for himself.

Now that the champion is back on winning form, what can he do in Race 3 at 5.20pm?

Position Driver Team
1 Ashley Sutton Laser Tools Racing
2 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C)
3 Ollie Jackson MB Motorsport (C)
4 Tom Ingram EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
5 Rory Butcher Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
6 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C)
7 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C)
8 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport
9 Jack Goff Team HARD
10 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing
11 Chris Smiley EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
12 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics
13 Dan Lloyd Power Maxed Racing
14 Senna Proctor BTC Racing
15 Josh Cook BTC Racing
16 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics
17 Carl Boardley Laser Tools Racing
18 Aron Taylor-Smith Team HARD
19 Sam Osborne Motorbase Performance (C)
20 Jason Plato Power Maxed Racing
21 Jessica Hawkins Motorbase Performance (C)
22 Jack Butel EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
23 Jade Edwards BTC Racing
24 Jake Hill MB Motorsport (C)
25 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD
26 Sam Smelt Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
27 Rick Parfitt EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
28 Tom Chilton (DNF) Ciceley Motorsport
29 Glynn Geddie (DNF) Team HARD

Leave a Reply