Max Verstappen storms to take pole position at Paul Ricard

Max Verstappen snatched pole position in today’s qualifying session at Paul Ricard. 

Red Bull and Max Verstappen halted Mercedes’ dominant qualifying form at Paul Ricard as Max Verstappen took his second pole position of the season.

The Red Bull driver held provisional pole going into the final runs; he then underlined his speed by going faster on his last flying lap. The Dutchman’s 1m29.990s proved to be too good for the rest.

Lewis Hamilton and a resurgent Valtteri Bottas will start behind Verstappen. Hamilton seemed stuck on the backfoot until he pulled out a solid lap to haul himself onto the front row.

The second Red Bull of Sergio Perez rounds out the top two rows with his fourth position.

Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz claimed fifth place to lead the crowded midfield battle. Sainz, Gasly and Leclerc are all separated by one-and-a-half tenths.

Both McLaren’s will start in the top ten, and Fernando Alonso managed to hustle his Alpine into ninth place for the French team’s home race.

Alonso’s teammate Esteban Ocon just missed out in Q2; he will go from 11th on the grid. Ocon heads Aston Martin’s Sebastian Vettel, the ever-improving Antonio Giovinazzi and Williams’ George Russell.

Mick Schumacher took no part in Q2 due to his session ending crash on the exit of turn six in Q1.

That crash caused a red flag which eliminated Lance Stroll. The Canadian got his first lap deleted due to a track limits violation, and the Schumacher crash ended his session.

The session started with a red flag courtesy of Yuki Tsunoda’s incident at turn two. The young Japanese driver’s wildly inconsistent season continues, and he will go from last for the race.

Final Classification

1 Max Verstappen NED Red Bull Racing 1m31.001s 1m31.080s 1m29.990s
2 Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team 1m31.237s 1m30.788s 1m30.248s
3 Valtteri Bottas FIN Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team 1m31.669s 1m30.735s 1m30.376s
4 Sergio Perez MEX Red Bull Racing 1m31.560s 1m30.971s 1m30.445s
5 Carlos Sainz ESP Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow 1m32.079s 1m31.146s 1m30.840s
6 Pierre Gasly FRA Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda 1m31.898s 1m31.353s 1m30.868s
7 Charles Leclerc MON Scuderia Ferrari Mission Winnow 1m32.209s 1m31.567s 1m30.987s
8 Lando Norris GBR McLaren F1 Team 1m31.733s 1m31.542s 1m31.252s
9 Fernando Alonso ESP Alpine F1 Team 1m32.158s 1m31.549s 1m31.340s
10 Daniel Ricciardo AUS McLaren F1 Team 1m32.181s 1m31.615s 1m31.382s
11 Esteban Ocon FRA Alpine F1 Team 1m32.139s 1m31.736s
12 Sebastian Vettel GER Aston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team 1m32.132s 1m31.767s
13 Antonio Giovinazzi ITA Alfa Romeo Racing Orlen 1m32.722s 1m31.813s
14 George Russell GBR Williams Racing 1m33.060s 1m32.065s
15 Mick Schumacher GER Uralkali Haas F1 Team 1m32.942s No Time Set
16 Nicholas Latifi CAN Williams Racing 1m33.062s
17 Kimi Raikkonen FIN Alfa Romeo Racing Orlen 1m33.354s
18 Nikita Mazepin RUS Uralkali Haas F1 Team 1m33.554s
19 Lance Stroll CAN Aston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team 2m21.584s
20 Yuki Tsunoda JPN Scuderia AlphaTauri Honda No Time Set