BTCC Brands Hatch Indy: Rowbottom secures maiden pole, Team Dynamics 1-2

Dan Rowbottom secured pole position during a thrilling Brands Hatch Indy qualifying session ahead of the seventh round of the BTCC.

Conditions were dry and cloudy at Brands Hatch as the Indy configuration delivered on a close field of 29 cars, 28 of whom were covered by a second.

Naturally, traffic was a topical matter with the fight to the quickest lap times on the calendar but was managed well throughout the 30-minute session.

The best times were set during the halfway point as drivers fought for the extra tenths and the heat on their tyres.

Qualifying lacked any major incidents with the only notable moment being Tom Ingram running wide and slightly off-road after Turn 1.

Dan Rowbottom continued his strong Free Practice momentum, as did teammate Gordon Shedden, to lock out the front row for Team Dynamics; just 0.005s separated the two drivers.

Jake Hill for MB Motorsport was in third following his pace asserted early on despite the 31 kg of weight ballast.

Tom Oliphant was the first of the BMW 330i M Sports with a 48.184s to be in fourth.

The Infiniti of Aiden Moffat secured fifth spot for tomorrow’s Race 1, edging Ingram. His reigning champion teammate Ash Sutton was in seventh, carrying the most ballast at 75kg.

Chris Smiley was in eighth place ahead of Josh Cook and Steven Jelley’s WSR BMW who rounded off the top-10.

Position Driver Team Time Diff. from Pole
1 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics 48.074s
2 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics 48.079s 0.005s
3 Jake Hill MB Motorsport (C) 48.179s 0.105s
4 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C) 48.184s 0.110s
5 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing 48.318s 0.244s
6 Tom Ingram EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 48.332s 0.258s
7 Ash Sutton Laser Tools Racing 48.370s 0.296s
8 Chris Smiley EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 48.372s 0.298s
9 Josh Cook BTC Racing 48.407s 0.333s
10 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C) 48.428s 0.354s
11 Jack Goff Team HARD 48.428s 0.354s
12 Dan Lloyd Power Maxed Racing 48.431s 0.357s
13 Senna Proctor BTC Racing 48.433s 0.359s
14 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C) 48.457s 0.383s
15 Sam Osborne Motorbase Performance (C) 48.493s 0.419s
16 Rory Butcher Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 48.506s 0.432s
17 Jason Plato Power Maxed Racing 48.533s 0.448s
18 Carl Boardley Laser Tools Racing 48.580s 0.506s
19 Ollie Jackson MB Motorsport (C) 48.617s 0.543s
20 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD 48.677s 0.603s
21 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport 48.680s 0.606s
22 Glynn Geddie Team HARD 48.727s 0.653s
23 Jade Edwards BTC Racing 48.756s 0.682s
24 Tom Chilton Ciceley Motorsport 48.885s 0.811s
25 Rick Parfitt Jr. EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 48.903s 0.829s
26 Sam Smelt Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 48.909s 0.835s
27 Jack Butel EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 48.982s 0.908s
28 Andy Neate Motorbase Performance (C) 48.984s 0.910s
29 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD 49.325s 1.251s