Dutch GP: Vinales continues impressive form in FP3 session

Maverick Vinales continued to dominate the Dutch TT weekend by finishing fastest in FP3 ahead of Fabio Quartararo.

Yamaha’s Maverick Vinales carried on his bounce-back weekend by topping another session. After experiencing a miserable weekend, Top Gun is flying on the Assen circuit.

The Yamaha bike looks the fastest on the fast, flowing track; Fabio Quartararo finished second behind his teammate to underline Yamaha’s pace advantage.

Pol Espargaro demonstrated his speed with his new Honda chassis. The Repsol Honda rider rounded out the top three. His success was in stark contrast to that of his teammate Marc Marquez.

After his huge crash yesterday, the Sachsenring race-winner struggled with a limp, and the lack of track time in FP2 hampered his adaptation to the new chassis. Marquez finished 15th and must go out in Q1 this afternoon.

Joining Marquez in the first qualifying session is; championship contender Johann Zarco, KTM’s Brad Binder, Ducati’s Pecco Bagnaia and Jorge Martin. The mad dash to get into Q2 will feature several big names.

One big name that won’t feature in the first part of qualifying is Valentino Rossi. The Doctor finished in an excellent ninth place and it is by far his best showing on a Saturday in 2021.

Taka Nakagami will ride alongside Rossi in Q2. The Japanese rider continued his love affair with the Assen track by taking seventh place in his LCR Honda.

Nakagami, Rossi and the rest of the riders will attempt to spoil Yamaha’s perfect weekend. Vinales and Quartararo look in a league of their own, and the qualifying battle could develop into a private duel between the teammates.

Final Classification

1 12 Maverick ViƱales Yamaha 1m32.336s
2 20 Fabio Quartararo Yamaha 1m32.533s 0.197s
3 44 Pol Espargaro Honda 1m32.641s 0.305s
4 41 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia 1m32.747s 0.411s
5 36 Joan Mir Suzuki 1m32.748s 0.412s
6 42 Alex Rins Suzuki 1m32.845s 0.509s
7 30 Takaaki Nakagami Honda 1m32.853s 0.517s
8 88 Miguel Oliveira KTM 1m32.871s 0.535s
9 46 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1m32.894s 0.558s
10 43 Jack Miller Ducati 1m32.907s 0.571s
11 5 Johann Zarco Ducati 1m32.938s 0.602s
12 63 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati 1m32.941s 0.605s
13 89 Jorge Martin Ducati 1m32.974s 0.638s
14 9 Danilo Petrucci KTM 1m33.026s 0.690s
15 93 Marc Marquez Honda 1m33.069s 0.733s
16 33 Brad Binder KTM 1m33.087s 0.751s
17 73 Alex Marquez Honda 1m33.250s 0.914s
18 27 Iker Lecuona KTM 1m33.356s 1.020s
19 32 Lorenzo Savadori Aprilia 1m33.368s 1.032s
20 10 Luca Marini Ducati 1m33.465s 1.129s
21 23 Enea Bastianini Ducati 1m33.853s 1.517s
22 31 Garrett Gerloff Yamaha 1m34.254s 1.918s