Max Verstappen snatches pole as Lando Norris shines

Max Verstappen made it consecutive pole positions at the Red Bull Ring during a wild qualifying session. 

Verstappen dominated all phases of qualifying to take another pole position at Red Bull’s home race. The Flying Dutchman sent his legion of fans into a frenzy as he landed another decisive blow against his championship rivals.

Lando Norris nearly crashed the party as the young McLaren driver placed his car on the front row. The Brit missed out by four-one hundredths of a second. Nonetheless, Norris once again underlined his speed with this stunning result.

Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas endured a difficult day as the Mercedes drivers came home in fourth and fifth. Starting behind both Red Bull’s was not in the plan for Toto Wolff’s team.

One of the other stars of qualifying was George Russell. Mr Saturday displayed his remarkable qualifying speed by dragging his Williams into Q3 for the first time. The Mercedes protégé will start on the medium tyres to boot.

While Russell experienced the ultimate high in Q2, Fernando Alonso didn’t. The Spaniard was on his flying lap when he got blocked by Sebastian Vettel on the exit of the Jochen Rindt Curve.

Alonso gesticulated angrily, and the incident is under investigation. Vettel is eighth on the provisional grid, although it could change.

The Ferrari’s start in 11th and 12th with a free choice of tyres; it could be a blessing in disguise for the Scuderia. Daniel Ricciardo’s troubles continued as he made a mistake at the Gosser Curve on his final flying lap. The Australian will start from 13th place.

If Ricciardo is enduring a tough time, Alpine’s Esteban Ocon is suffering. The other Alpine driver made it consecutive Q1 eliminations as he lines up in 17th place.

In the end, today was another brilliant day for Red Bull. Their cars start first and third, and they are ahead of their championship rivals. With the ferocious backing from his countrymen and women, Verstappen will take some stopping in the race.

Final Classification

1 Netherlands Max Verstappen 1’03.720 243.954
2 United Kingdom Lando Norris 1’03.768 0.048 243.771
3 Mexico Sergio Perez 1’03.990 0.270 242.925
4 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton 1’04.014 0.294 242.834
5 Finland Valtteri Bottas 1’04.049 0.329 242.701
6 France Pierre Gasly 1’04.107 0.387 242.482
7 Japan Yuki Tsunoda 1’04.273 0.553 241.855
8 Germany Sebastian Vettel 1’04.570 0.850 240.743
9 United Kingdom George Russell 1’04.591 0.871 240.665
10 Canada Lance Stroll 1’04.618 0.898 240.564
11 Spain Carlos Sainz Jr. 1’04.559 0.839 240.784
12 Monaco Charles Leclerc 1’04.600 0.880 240.631
13 Australia Daniel Ricciardo 1’04.719 0.999 240.189
14 Spain Fernando Alonso 1’04.856 1.136 239.681
15 Italy Antonio Giovinazzi 1’05.083 1.363 238.845
16 Finland Kimi Raikkonen 1’05.009 1.289 239.117
17 France Esteban Ocon 1’05.051 1.331 238.963
18 Canada Nicholas Latifi 1’05.195 1.475 238.435
19 Germany Mick Schumacher 1’05.427 1.707 237.589
20 Russian Federation Nikita Mazepin 1’05.951 2.231 235.702