Taylor and Sorensen joins Andersen in #20 High Class Racing as Le Mans crew

Reigning Daytona 24 Hours winner Ricky Taylor and FIA WEC GT World Champion Marco Sorensen will join Dennis Andersen in the #20 High Class Racing for Le Mans.

High Class Racing has confirmed their Le Mans 24 Hours line-up of the #20 Oreca 07-Gibson LMP2 set to race on August 21-22.

The 2021 Daytona 24 Hours winner and IMSA DPi championship leader Ricky Taylor will reside his pre-planned role as Oreca’s reserve driver for Le Mans, instead running a seat in the race itself.

He won the Sebring 12 Hours in 2017, as well as his first of two Daytona 24 victories, and will be keen to pursue a (class) victory on his seventh participation.

The 31-year-old has competed at Le Mans in different machinery every time, but retired on his two most recent participations, in 2018 and 2019.

Embed from Getty Images

His debut was made into the French classic in GTE-Am, in 2013, followed by the first of four LMP2 entries in 2014, and split with a GTE-Pro outing for Corvette Racing in 2016.

Reigning FIA WEC GT World Champion Marco Sorensen last drove in the championship at the end of Season 8, where he secured his second world championship alongside Nicki Thiim in Bahrain.

The Dane will join full-time FIA WEC compatriot Dennis Andersen on his debut drive into the LMP2 category.

Their sister car entry which does not compete in the FIA WEC season full-time, the #49, was announced to be driven by Jan and Kevin Magnussen, and Anders Fjordbach.

Next month, the trio will face the historic endurance race against 24 other LMP2 cars for the class victory.