Max Verstappen wins pole in inaugural F1 Sprint Race

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen triumphed in the inaugural F1 Sprint Race to take pole position for tomorrow’s race. 

A sizzling, fire-breathing Max Verstappen claimed victory in the first-ever F1 Sprint Race on a scorching hot day. The Dutchman aced the start to beat title rival Lewis Hamilton off the line.

Yesterday’s hero Hamilton challenged Verstappen into Brooklands and Copse on the opening lap, but to no avail. Verstappen starts from pole position tomorrow, and he took three extra points to further his championship lead.

Mercedes split their tyre strategies by starting Valtteri Bottas on the soft tyre; ultimately, it made no difference. The Finn came home in a lonely third ahead of Charles Leclerc’s Ferrari.

Leclerc’s teammate Carlos Sainz lost a lot on lap one. The Spaniard collided with George Russell at Brooklands; however, he climbed his way through the field to start 11th in tomorrow’s race.

Conversely, Sergio Perez couldn’t fight through the pack after his spin at the exit of Chapel. A miraculous save kept Perez out of the wall, although Red Bull still chose to retire his car after he got stuck in 18th place.

Fernando Alonso’s start on soft tyres paid off as he gained six places on Lap 1. The Alpine driver then defended valiantly against the McLarens.

Norris and Ricciardo eventually overtook Alonso to come home in fifth and sixth. It was a good session for McLaren as they are in an excellent spot to take a bagful of points over their main rivals in tomorrow’s race.

Kimi Raikkonen demonstrated all his veteran instincts to finish 13th; it was a strong drive from the Alfa Romeo driver to seal a starting spot in the midfield.

In the end, Max Verstappen is proving to be the man to beat. Even after yesterday’s slight issue, he bounced back to extend his lead and take control of tomorrow’s race.

Provisional Classification

Position Driver Chassis Laps Time Gap
1 Netherlands Max Verstappen Red Bull 17
2 United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 17 1.430s 1.430s
3 Finland Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 17 7.502s 7.502s
4 Monaco Charles Leclerc Ferrari 17 11.278s 11.278s
5 United Kingdom Lando Norris McLaren 17 24.111s 24.111s
6 Australia Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 17 30.959s 30.959s
7 Spain Fernando Alonso Alpine 17 43.527s 43.527s
8 Germany Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 17 44.439s 44.439s
9 United Kingdom George Russell Williams 17 46.652s 46.652s
10 France Esteban Ocon Alpine 17 47.395s 47.395s
11 Spain Carlos Sainz Jr. Ferrari 17 47.798s 47.798s
12 France Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 17 48.763s 48.763s
13 Finland Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo 17 50.677s 50.677s
14 Canada Lance Stroll Aston Martin 17 52.179s 52.179s
15 Italy Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo 17 53.225s 53.225s
16 Japan Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 17 53.567s 53.567s
17 Canada Nicholas Latifi Williams 17 55.162s 55.162s
18 Germany Mick Schumacher Haas 17 1’08.213s 1’08.213s
19 Russian Federation Nikita Mazepin Haas 17 1’17.648s 1’17.648s
20 Mexico Sergio Perez Red Bull 16