Details of first-ever Bahrain double-header confirmed by WEC

The FIA World Endurance Championship has given more details about its first-ever Bahrain double-header races that will conclude Season 9.

The fifth round of the WEC will be the 6 Hours of Bahrain on Saturday 30 October, instead of the 6 Hours of Fuji that was originally planned.

It will be set to run in the daylight, starting at 11am (9am BST) and running six hours towards sunset at 5pm (3pm BST).

The ‘Season-Finale’ of the 2021 schedule will take place on the following weekend, on Saturday 6 October.

Commencing at 2pm (12pm BST) and ending eight hours later in the dark at 10pm (8pm BST), it will be the second eight-hour race on this year’s calendar after Round 2 at the 8 Hours of Portimao.

Both of these running windows will provide challenges for the teams to negotiate two races at the same 5.4 km GP configuration with the latter running longer and into the dark.

Recap on last year’s 8 Hours of Bahrain finale:

Frédéric Lequien, FIA WEC CEO said: “It will be interesting to see the different strategies that teams adopt for the double-header.

“We’re very much looking forward to returning to the Kingdom with Sheikh Salman (CEO of Bahrain International Circuit) and his team and to crowning our new World Champions at the end of our first ever double-header.”

The winning drivers at the six-hour affair will claim 25 points, whilst it is upped to 38 at the final race.

On Sunday 7 November, the traditional Rookie Test for Hypercar, LMP and GTE machinery will take place to test drivers, but more will be said ahead of Bahrain.

Hosting this double-header at the same circuit simplifies the proceedings, with one COVID protocol to manage plus one means to unload/load the team’s equipment.

Attempting to run at other circuits would pose tackling their various COVID and logistical protocols at the different borders.

Updated WEC Season 9 calendar
Round Venue Date
Prologue (Pre-Season testing) Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium April 26-27
1) 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium May 1
2) 8 Hours of Portimão Autódromo Internacional do Algarve, Portugal June 13
3) 6 Hours of Monza Autodromo Nationale di Monza, Italy July 18
4) 24 Hours of Le Mans Circuit de la Sarthe, France August 21-22
5) 6 Hours of Bahrain Bahrain International Circuit, Bahrain October 30
6) 8 Hours of Bahrain Bahrain International Circuit, Bahrain November 6