BTCC Oulton Park: Proctor takes maiden pole position

Senna Proctor took his first pole position during qualifying for the 10th round of the British Touring Car Championship at Oulton Park.

It was a thrilling display of flat-out qualifying for tomorrow’s Race 1 at a cloudy Oulton Park.

In usual fashion, the field was close with almost the whole field covered by 2 seconds around the Island configuration.

However, it emerged the front-wheel drive hatchbacks were able to show their pace around the narrow and fast circuit.

During the early stages of the 30-minute session, Colin Turkington was setting the pace in his BMW 330i M Sport.

His second flying lap was a 1m25.928s which was the fastest during the race weekend, but far from the eventual pole time.

The four-time champion had a spin into Cascades, as did Chris Smiley in his Hyundai i30 N.

Tom Ingram, who sits second in the drivers’ standings, did not set a lap-time due to an unknown issue that kept him in the garage which puts him at the back of the 29-car field.

By the end, it was BTC Racing’s Senna Proctor with time of 1m25.485s to land his first pole position (0.001s off Jason Plato’s 2015 qualifying record).

He denied Team Dynamics’ Gordon Shedden to first position by 0.076s.

The Scotsman’s brother-in-law, Rory Butcher, landed third spot for tomorrow’s opening race in his Toyota Corolla GR Sport.

The pole-sitter from last time out at Brands Hatch, Dan Rowbottom, was in fourth.

Team HARD’s best qualifier in this session was Jack Goff in fifth ahead of Adam Morgan and Jake Hill.

West Surrey Racing teammates Stephen Jelley and Colin Turkington were in eighth and ninth whilst reigning champion Ash Sutton rounded off the top-10.

BTCC rookie and debutant Jack Mitchell qualified his Cupra Leon in 25th.

Position Driver Team Time Diff. from pole
1 Senna Proctor BTC Racing 1m25.485s
2 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics 1m25.561s 0.076s
3 Rory Butcher Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 1m25.572s 0.087s
4 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics 1m25.578s 0.093s
5 Jack Goff Team HARD 1m25.699s 0.214s
6 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport 1m25.702s 0.217s
7 Jake Hill MB Motorsport (C) 1m25.716s 0.231s
8 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C) 1m25.775s 0.290s
9 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C) 1m25.795s 0.310s
10 Ash Sutton Laser Tools Racing 1m35.807s 0.322s
11 Sam Osborne Motorbase Performance (C) 1m25.905s 0.420s
12 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing 1m25.940s 0.455s
13 Josh Cook BTC Racing 1m26.021s 0.536s
14 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C) 1m26.044s 0.559s
15 Sam Smelt Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 1m26.047s 0.562s
16 Dan Lloyd Power Maxed Racing 1m26.087s 0.602s
17 Ollie Jackson MB Motorsport (C) 1m26.089s 0.604s
18 Jason Plato Power Maxed Racing 1m26.132s 0.647s
19 Chris Smiley EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m26.135s 0.650s
20 Carl Boardley Laser Tools Racing 1m26.141s 0.656s
21 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD 1m26.610s 1.125s
22 Tom Chilton Ciceley Motorsport 1m26.621s 1.136s
23 Jade Edwards BTC Racing 1m26.719s 1.234s
24 Rick Parfitt Jr. EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m26.790s 1.305s
25 Jack Mitchell Team HARD 1m26.854s 1.369s
26 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD 1m27.001s 1.516s
27 Jack Butel EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m27.254s 1.769s
28 Andy Neate Motorbase Performance (C) 1m28.145s 2.660s
29 Tom Ingram EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars NO TIME SET N/A