BTCC Oulton Park: Butcher dominates second race of the day

Rory Butcher claimed his first victory at the Speedworks Motorsport team during a thrilling second race at Oulton Park.

The 11th round of the British Touring Car Championship ran in exuberant fashion with drivers up and down the grid fighting hard for their second bag of points.

Whilst Tom Oliphant did not make it to the grid due to the damage he encountered in Race 1, Chris Smiley and Rick Parfitt Jr. both made it back to start the second race in their Hyundais.

At lights out, pole-man Dan Rowbottom held the lead into Turn 1 with his 75 kg ballast, ahead of teammate Gordon Shedden.

But into Cascades (Turn 2) Rory Butcher took on Shedden on the outside, then taking the lead at the Island Hairpin from P4 on the grid.

Flash struggled to keep his front row spot as he was down in P5 by the end of the opening lap.

Jack Goff was an innocent collection from contact in the pack which put Ollie Jackson sideways into the Team HARD driver, closing his points streak at every race.

On Lap 3, BTC Racing’s Josh Cook was physical with Jason Plato with front right bodywork damage marking his outcome from a sandwich between the two-time champion and Colin Turkington.

Championship protagonists set their eyes for a redemption drive in the second race.

By Lap 5, reigning champion Ash Sutton was into P9 and made five places whereas Tom Ingram was in P8 as he climbed 11 positions.

Rory Butcher established his lead by over 3s come Lap 6, by which saw Rowbottom challenged by Adam Morgan as he faced the effects of his maximum ballast.

Also on the same lap, Dan Lloyd was handed a 5s time penalty for an out-of-position start on the grid.

The eighth lap saw Shedden challenged by Aiden Moffat as the pair put on an exciting battle for P5.

On Lap 9, Aiden Moffat established a run from Cascades into the Island Hairpin, and claimed fifth place.

Meanwhile, his teammate Sutton spent the final laps chasing Stephen Jelley for P7.

By Lap 12, the final one, Rory Butcher secured a dominant first win this year at his new team this year.

Rowbottom and Adam Morgan completed the podium spots, both making repeat appearances from the opening race.

Jake Hill and his Ford Focus ST was the dark horse of the race in P4, ahead of Moffat and Shedden.

Behind was Jelley who landed P7 from Sutton, who was followed by yesterday’s pole sitter Senna Proctor and Tom Ingram to round off the top-10 order.

Position Driver Team
1 Rory Butcher
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
2 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics
3 Adam Morgan
Ciceley Motorsport
4 Jake Hill
MB Motorsport (C)
5 Aiden Moffat
Laser Tools Racing
6 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics
7 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C)
8 Ash Sutton
Laser Tools Racing
9 Senna Proctor BTC Racing
10 Tom Ingram
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
11 Carl Boardley
Laser Tools Racing
12 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C)
13 Tom Chilton
Ciceley Motorsport
14 Chris Smiley
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
15 Sam Osborne
Motorbase Performance (C)
16 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD
17 Jack Butel
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
18 Jason Plato
Power Maxed Racing
19 Sam Smelt
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
20 Jade Edwards BTC Racing
21 Dan Lloyd
Power Maxed Racing
22 Jack Mitchell Team HARD
23 Rick Parfitt Jr.
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
24 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD
25 Jack Goff Team HARD
26 *DNF Ollie Jackson
MB Motorsport (C)
27 *DNF Josh Cook BTC Racing