BTCC Oulton Park: Proctor secures victory in eventful Race 3

Senna Proctor of BTC Racing claimed victory from pole during a dramatic and red-flagged final BTCC race of the day at Oulton Park.

It was a day of drama at Oulton Park with several moments of drama and incidents, and Round 12 was no exception.

With the reverse grid draw, it was Senna Proctor who found himself on the front row for the second time this weekend ahead of Ash Sutton. Ingram started in P10.

But eventual dramas would turn the tables of the championship title fight.

Tom Oliphant, who was involved in an incident during Race 1, was able to rejoin the action by starting at the rear of the grid in a repaired BMW 330i Sport.

At lights out, Proctor got off well with his 15 kg of ballast and led to Turn 1 until Ash Sutton made the most of his soft slicks to pass for the lead.

Moments later, a multi-car pileup saw the likes of Chris Smiley slightly tapping Sam Osborne’s Ford Focus ST sideways into several other cars.

Debutant Jack Mitchell was collided out, as was Jack Butel and Nicolas Hamilton.

On the restart, Proctor and Sutton were side-by-side until the Honda tagged the Infiniti to put him into a spin.

Sutton’s spin was controlled so that he was still amongst the pack until he was tagged with teammate Carl Boardley at the end of Turn 3.

Meanwhile, fellow title championship contender Tom Ingram pitted and rejoined last.

On Lap 3, Dan Lloyd in his PMR Vauxhall Astra was making moves as he put Aron Taylor-Smith under pressure for P13.

Their nose-to-tail duel carried on for the next three laps until Lloyd cemented the move on the Cupra Leon.

By Lap 8, Tom Chilton got himself into P9 past Rory Butcher who was carrying a hefty 75 kg ballast following his previous race win.

Butcher lost a handful of positions owing to his struggles.

The Scotsman’s race efforts were ended on Lap 9 when Boardley lost control into the penultimate corner and charged sideways into Butcher due to a brake failure.

They both retired and the race was red-flagged on Lap 10 (out of the intended 12).

Proctor claimed victory ahead of Stephen Jelley and Gordon Shedden.

Aiden Moffat was in fourth place ahead of Adam Morgan’s BMW.

Dan Rowbottom finished in P5, which puts him third in the fight for the championship title.

Jake Hill and Colin Turkington were in P7 and P8, whilst Tom Chilton and Chris Smiley rounded off the top-10.

Position Driver Team
1 Senna Proctor BTC Racing
2 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C)
3 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics
4 Aiden Moffat
Laser Tools Racing
5 Adam Morgan
Ciceley Motorsport
6 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics
7 Jake Hill
MB Motorsport (C)
8 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C)
9 Tom Chilton
Ciceley Motorsport
10 Chris Smiley
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
11 Dan Lloyd
Power Maxed Racing
12 Josh Cook BTC Racing
13 Jason Plato
Power Maxed Racing
14 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C)
15 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD
16 Jack Goff Team HARD
17 Ollie Jackson
MB Motorsport (C)
18 Sam Smelt Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
19 Rick Parfitt Jr.
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
20 Jade Edwards BTC Racing
21 Tom Ingram
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
22 *DNF Ash Sutton
Laser Tools Racing
23 *DNF Sam Osborne
Motorbase Performance (C)
24 *DNF Jack Butel
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
25 *DNF Jack Mitchell Team HARD
26 *DNF Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD
27 *DNF Rory Butcher
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
28 *DNF Carl Boardley
Laser Tools Racing