Hungarian GP: Ocon claims maiden F1 victory amidst Hungarian washout

After a 20-car bunch up, a red flag, and a 20 minute race suspension, Esteban Ocon took his first F1 race victory at the Hungarian Grand Prix.

Just seconds after lights out, 20 cars faced a treacherous Hungarian storm and only 15 resurfaced unharmed.

Valtteri Bottas’ late breaking into Turn 1 led to a cascade of spinning and sliding on the waterlogged tack.

Bottas hit the McLaren of Lando Norris which caused the front left tyre of the Mercedes to detach, ending Bottas’ race after only 600 metres.

Norris’ McLaren also suffered damage from the collision which consequently led to the retirement of the Brit.

Lance Stroll, Charles Leclerc, and Sergio Perez were all collateral damage of the incident. The McLaren of Norris hit Max Verstappen who then hit Perez sending him into the gravel.

Verstappen escaped the consequences but the same could not be said for his teammate as Perez’s Grand Prix came to an abrupt end.

Stroll was also entangled within the Red Bull’s collision. The Aston Martin uncontrollably charged up the side of the Ferrari of Leclerc, ending both of their races prematurely.

The unsurprising red flag incident concluded with a 20-minute race suspension followed by a standing start.

All the drivers, besides Lewis Hamilton, took their restart from the pitlane. But even with a dry track, the second start of the race wasn’t incident free.

Kimi Raikkonen drove his Alfa Romeo into Nikita Mazepin causing irreparable damage to the Haas, putting yet another car out of the race.

Out of the 14 cars left, it was Sebastian Vettel who came second behind the Alpine of Ocon.

Behind them was Hamilton who made up 11 places to take third place at the Hungarian Grand Prix.

Hamilton endured a lengthy battle with Fernando Alonso who kept him in fifth position until the Lap 66, where Alonso could not keep Hamilton at bay any longer.

As well as catching the defensive Alpine, Hamilton racked down the Ferrari of Carlos Sainz leaving Alonso in fifth and Sainz in fourth.

Pierre Gasly crossed the line in sixth whilst gaining an extra point for achieving the fastest lap. The Frenchman was followed by his teammate Yuki Tsunoda in seventh.

With Nicholas Latifi in eighth and George Russell in ninth, the two Williams finished in the top ten for the first time this season and scored their first points since 2018.

To finish the top-10 was a frustrated Verstappen.

After his incident in the pitlane, Raikkonen just missed out on points as he crossed the line in P11. Following the Finn was Daniel Ricciardo in 12th and Mick Schumacher in 13th.

Following his 10 second stop-go penalty for speeding in the pitlane, Antonio Giovinazzi finished in P14 to conclude a highly dramatic race before the summer break.