Pecco Bagnaia tops FP3 in perfect conditions at the Red Bull Ring

On a glorious Austrian morning, Pecco Bagnaia went fastest in today’s FP3 session of the Styrian GP. 

Ducati and Pecco Bagnaia underlined their speed around the Red Bull Ring as the Italian set the best time in today’s free practice session. FP3 provided the teams with their first taste of complete dry running for this weekend’s Styrian GP with yesterday’s mixed conditions.

To further highlight Ducati’s pace, Pramac Ducati duo Jorge Martin and Johann Zarco grabbed two top ten spots to seal their passage into Q2. Jack Miller joined them in ninth place as all four factory Ducati bikes demonstrated good speed.

Fabio Quartararo and Maverick Vinales rounded out the top three, although Quartararo still seemed unhappy with his bike. Reigning world champion Joan Mir, Honda’s Marc Marquez, and Taka Nakagami finished in the top ten.

Conversely, it proved a challenging session for the home team KTM bikes. All five riders were outside the top ten, with wildcard rider Dani Pedrosa the quickest. After winning here last year, KTM will be disappointed with their lack of pace.

Final Classification

1 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Team (GP21)
2 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1)
3 Maverick Viñales SPA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1)
4 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP21)
5 Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)
6 Johann Zarco FRA Pramac Ducati (GP21)
7 Marc Marquez SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V)
8 Aleix Espargaro ITA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)
9 Jack Miller AUS Ducati Team (GP21)
10 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)
11 Pol Espargaro SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V)
12 Dani Pedrosa SPA Red Bull KTM (RC16)
13 Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)
14 Alex Marquez SPA LCR Honda (RC213V)
15 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16)
16 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM (RC16)
17 Iker Lecuona SPA KTM Tech3 (RC16)
18 Danilo Petrucci ITA KTM Tech3 (RC16)
19 Valentino Rossi ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)
20 Enea Bastianini ITA Avintia Ducati (GP19)
21 Luca Marini ITA VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)
22 Lorenzo Savadori ITA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)