Styrian GP: Martin snatches pole as Quartararo exceeds track limits

Jorge Martin grabbed his second pole position of the season in today’s qualifying session for the Grand Prix of Styria on Sunday.

Rookie Jorge Martin is back to his best after his injury trouble.

The Pramac Ducati rider topped the timesheet after Fabio Quartararo’s provisional lap time got deleted for exceeding track limits. Martin was the beneficiary, then a late crash for Marc Marquez bought the yellow flags out, ending the session.

Overall, there are four Ducati’s in the top six. The drag race towards turn one and beyond promises to be exciting. Suzuki’s Joan Mir and t Quartararo start on the first two rows alongside the powerful Ducati’s.

Aleix Espargaro and Marc Marquez will start next to each other as they race off from row three. Yamaha’s Maverick Vinales couldn’t match his teammate’s pace as he could only claim ninth place.

Taka Nakagami showed plenty of promise as he was the second-highest Honda bike in tenth.

Miguel Oliveira saved face for KTM as he did drag his non-compliant bike into Q1; however, his Q2 run got limited due to a hand injury he sustained in a crash yesterday.

Wildcard rider Dani Pedrosa underlined his class as he was the highest KTM bike after Oliveira.

Pol Espargaro endured a tricky session as the Repsol Honda man could only claim 15th place.

Friday hero Lorenzo Savadori and returning Englishman Cal Crutchlow will start from the last row with Danilo Petrucci between them.

Provisional Grid

1 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP21)* 1m22.994s 7/9 317k
2 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Team (GP21) +0.044s 6/9 316k
3 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.081s 3/8 309k
4 Jack Miller AUS Ducati Team (GP21) +0.306s 3/9 316k
5 Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +0.328s 9/10 309k
6 Johann Zarco FRA Pramac Ducati (GP21) +0.382s 7/9 313k
7 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) +0.454s 9/9 311k
8 Marc Marquez SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) +0.495s 8/8 314k
9 Maverick ViƱales SPA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.514s 8/8 309k
10 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) +0.542s 8/9 312k
11 Alex Marquez SPA LCR Honda (RC213V) +0.847s 8/9 314k
12 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM (RC16) +0.950s 4/4 309k
Qualifying 1:
13 Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m23.585s 7/8 309k
14 Dani Pedrosa SPA Red Bull KTM (RC16) 1m23.73s 9/9 312k
15 Pol Espargaro SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1m23.971s 8/8 316k
16 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16) 1m24.05s 3/8 311k
17 Valentino Rossi ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m24.097s 7/9 304k
18 Luca Marini ITA Sky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)* 1m24.115s 8/8 309k
19 Iker Lecuona SPA KTM Tech3 (RC16) 1m24.141s 6/8 306k
20 Enea Bastianini ITA Avintia Ducati (GP19)* 1m24.245s 3/9 312k
21 Lorenzo Savadori ITA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 1m24.405s 7/7 307k
22 Danilo Petrucci ITA KTM Tech3 (RC16) 1m24.465s 8/8 308k
23 Cal Crutchlow GBR Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) 1m24.513s 7/8 305k