Austrian GP: Martin claims consecutive pole position

Rookie Jorge Martin followed up his win last week with a stunning pole position in today’s qualifying session for the Austrian GP tomorrow.

Pramac Ducati’s rookie race-winning rider Jorge Martin continued his irrepressible form as he set a blistering new lap record to deny Fabio Quartararo pole position.

Martin’s 1m22.643s was a strong lap, especially after Fabio Quartararo bailed out of his final lap after a mistake.

Moreover, Martin displayed true grit as he crashed in practice earlier today, which meant he needed to go through Q1 to make it into the pole position shootout.

Martin and his bike look to be in perfect harmony.

All four 2021 Ducati machines are again lining up in the top-six.

Quartararo and a remarkable lap from Marc Marquez were the hurdles for the Italian bikes. Joan Mir confirmed Suzuki’s improving form as the reigning champion claimed seventh place.

Aleix Espargaro and the factory KTM riders Miguel Oliveira and Brad Binder rounded out the top-10.

It was a tricky session for Alex Rins and Pol Espargaro. Both riders’ teammates made the top-10, while these two riders will start from the midfield.

Iker Lecuona showed a decent turn of speed as he out-qualified three race-winners on his Tech 3 KTM bike.

Cal Crutchlow carried on his adaptation period on the Petronas bike; the Brit starts last, although he was not far away from teammate Valentino Rossi. 

In the end, the session belonged to Martin.

The impressive season rookie is asserting his determination and be set on landing a consecutive win in Styria.

Provisional Classification

1 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP21)
2 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1)
3 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Team (GP21)
4 Johann Zarco FRA Pramac Ducati (GP21)
5 Marc Marquez SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V)
6 Jack Miller AUS Ducati Team (GP21)
7 Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)
8 Aleix Espargaro ITA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)
9 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM (RC16)
10 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16)
11 Pol Espargaro SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V)
12 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)
13 Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)
14 Alex Marquez SPA LCR Honda (RC213V)
15 Enea Bastianini ITA Avintia Ducati (GP19)
16 Iker Lecuona SPA KTM Tech3 (RC16)
17 Luca Marini ITA VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)
18 Valentino Rossi ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)
19 Danilo Petrucci ITA KTM Tech3 (RC16)
20 Cal Crutchlow GBR Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1)