BTCC Knockhill: Turkington takes pole in tight qualifying

Colin Turkington claimed his first top qualifying spot this season during a close session for tomorrow’s opening race at Knockhill.

A dry and cloudy set the fight for pole position to be close at one of the shortest and most exhaubrant circuits on the calendar.

All 29 drivers were using the soft slick compound because it is set to be the fastest tyre for this weekend.

The rear-wheel drive BMWs and Infinitis handled their weight ballasts better than the front-wheel drive runners at a short, demanding circuit as Knockhill.

Just 8 minutes into the 30-minute session, a red flag was deployed after Rick Parfitt straight lined himself over the chicane by hitting the curb, thus launching into the gravel trap.

He drove away, but as per the rules, he was out of the session having caused a red flag to put himself last on the grid (with no competitive time set).

A number of drivers were pushing their laps to the limit, rallycross-style.

Several cars went off at the first corner and after the chicane, leaving no apparent damage afterwards.

Meanwhile, home-hero Gordon Shedden was consistently pushing his Honda to the limits throughout.

With 11 mins left on the timer, another red flag was deployed when Adam Morgan replicated Parfitt’s circumstance though failing to get himself out of the gravel.

A rear-left puncture was the sole sole notable damage which ended his running by triggering the temporary session stoppage.

It was Colin Turkington who surged to his first pole position of the season ahead of Senna Proctor.

EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars’ Chris Smiley jumped from seventh to qualify third on his final flying lap.

Josh Cook and Jake Hill were in fourth and fifth.

Reigning champion Ash Sutton marginally claimed sixth ahead of teammate Aiden Moffat and Toyota driver Rory Butcher.

Tom Ingram was in P9 as Tom Oliphant rounded out the top-10.

Paul Rivett, who is filling in for Andy Neate, qualified in P24.

Position Driver Team Time Diff. from pole
1 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C) 50.836s
2 Senna Proctor BTC Racing 50.953s 0.117s
3 Chris Smiley EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 51.004s 0.168s
4 Josh Cook BTC Racing 51.019s 0.183s
5 Jake Hill MB Motorsport (C) 51.021s 0.185s
6 Ash Sutton Laser Tools Racing 51.035s 0.199s
7 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing 51.036s 0.200s
8 Rory Butcher Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 51.047s 0.211s
9 Tom Ingram EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 51.079s 0.243s
10 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C) 51.101s 0.265s
11 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics 51.120s 0.284s
12 Dan Lloyd Power Maxed Racing 51.187s 0.351s
13 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport 51.245s 0.409s
14 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C) 51.262s 0.426s
15 Jason Plato Power Maxed Racing 51.273s 0.437s
16 Tom Chilton Ciceley Motorsport 51.295s 0.459s
17 Ollie Jackson MB Motorsport (C) 51.349s 0.513s
18 Jack Goff Team HARD 51.390s 0.554s
19 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics 51.487s 0.651s
20 Sam Osborne Motorbase Performance (C) 51.520s 0.684s
21 Sam Smelt Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 51.617s 0.781s
22 Jade Edwards BTC Racing 51.668s 0.832s
23 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD 51.686s 0.850s
24 Paul Rivett Motorbase Performance (C) 51.729s 0.893s
25 Carl Boardley Laser Tools Racing 51.763s 0.927s
26 Jack Mitchell Team HARD 51.772s 0.936s
27 Jack Butel EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 51.908s 1.072s
28 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD 52.141s 1.305s
29 Rick Parfitt Jr. EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars NO TIME SET N/A