BTCC Knockhill: Ingram masterclass produces exhilarating finale

Tom Ingram came through from third on the grid to win Round 15 of the British Touring Car Championship in emphatic style.

Stephen Jelley got a lighting start with Jason Plato following him through on the opening lap of this final show of the day

Team HARD Racing’s Jack Goff and Josh Cook for BTC Racing tangled with one another coming out of the third corner which put them both to the back of the field, and forced Cook into race retirement.

A safety car was deployed to clear Cook’s stricken Honda Civic Type R.

Jelley, Plato and Ingram were all fighting for the lead with Plato and Jelley on the slower medium tyre compared to Tom Ingram on the soft compound.

Jake Hill and Gordon Shedden came close to an accident leaving the chicane on Lap 6, as Hill managed to defend without contact successfully.

Plato found a second wind of pace and closed up onto the bumper of Jelley’s BMW by the end of Lap 9.

On the next lap, Plato locked up into the hairpin causing him to lose four places in the matter of half a lap. Turkington followed in Plato’s footsteps by dropping positions.

Ash Sutton, winner of Race 2, found his way past a struggling Jason Plato to continue his climb up the points scoring positions.

Ingram sold Jelley a perfectly-timed dummy maneuver at the hairpin to allow himself to send his Hyundai up the inside of the BMW.

Senna Proctor followed Ingram through on Jelley as well at the end of Lap 17.

Gordon Shedden finally made his way past Jake Hill after 18 laps of bumper-to-bumper racing.

Jake Hill refused to give up the fastest line to Chris Smiley and sent himself flying down the hill over the grass, losing another place to Aiden Moffat on Lap 22. Hill pulled to the pits to retire on the following lap.

Carl Boardley charged a stock car-like move up the inside of Tom Oliphant, allowing Team HARD’s Aron Taylor-Smith through to put them both 11th and 12th respectively.

Tom Ingram was the race winner to put current points leader Ash Sutton under pressure moving into the second Thruxton weekend.

In second was Senna Proctor, as Stephen Jelley successfully held off Gordon Shedden for third on the slower medium tyre.

Ash Sutton finished fifth ahead of Chris Smiley and Aiden Moffat.

In eighth place was Colin Turkington, who finished ahead of Jason Plato and Dan Rowbottom to round off the top-10 order.

Position Driver Team
1 Tom Ingram EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
2 Senna Proctor BTC Racing
3 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C)
4 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics
5 Ash Sutton Laser Tools Racing
6 Chris Smiley EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
7 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing
8 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C)
9 Jason Plato Power Maxed Racing
10 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics
11 Carl Boardley Laser Tools Racing
12 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD
13 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C)
14 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport
15 Ollie Jackson MB Motorsport (C)
16 Jack Butel EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
17 Sam Osborne Motorbase Performance (C)
18 Daniel Lloyd Team Dynamics
19 Jade Edwards BTC Racing
20 Rory Butcher Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
21 Paul Rivett Team HARD
22 Jack Mitchell Team HARD
23 Tom Chilton Ciceley Motorsport
24 Sam Smelt Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
25 Rick Parfitt Jr. EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
26 Jack Goff Team HARD
27 DNF* Jake Hill MB Motorsport (C)
28 DNF* Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD
29 DNF* Josh Cook BTC Racing