BTCC Knockhill: Sutton charges to victory over Turkington

A last lap mistake by Colin Turkington enabled reigning champion Ash Sutton to charge to victory in the second race of the day at Knockhill.

It was another strong start for a ballast-stricken Turkington, however Chris Smiley tumbled down the order after stalling on the grid.

Nicholas Hamilton’s CUPRA found the wall after contact with the out-of-position Tom Oliphant.

Daniel Rowbottom found the gravel exiting Turn 3. Due to the safety car deployment, he was able to dive into the pit lane and not lose a lap to the rest of the field.

Turkington had another perfect restart, pulling away from Josh Cook in second place for BTC Racing.

Senna Proctor has dropped two positions from the start, however the real looser from this race is Smiley, dropping 13 positions from his starting slot.

Sutton sent his Infiniti down the inside of Cook at the final corner on Lap 9. Cook attempted to fight back but Sutton was still able to pull away to chase Turkington’s BMW.

Ash Sutton was on a charge, chasing down Turkington. Sutton gained a couple of tenths by the end of Lap 13.

He closed himself to Turkington entirely by the start of the 16th lap as the WSR driver drove defended his place from the Laser Tools Racing driver.

Turkington showed off his defensive driving which led to him forcing Sutton off the track slightly at the end of Lap 17, allowing Jake Hill to close up by nearly a second.

Behind the group, Moffat, Ingram and Butcher went three-wide down to the hairpin with an impressive cutback move from Butcher to allow him through into seventh.

Though the Scotsman was out of the race soon after high-speed contact sent him straight into the gravel trap.

Sutton and Turkington got a charging restart as the rest if the field were held up in frustration by the recovering Rick Parfitt.

Colin Turkington made an uncharacteristic mistake coming out of the chicane by running wide, allowing Sutton to extend his championship lead on the final lap of round 15.

Hill was in fourth ahead of Josh Cook and Gordon Shedden.

Ingram came in sixth place, followed by Senna Proctor in seventh.

Jason Plato was in eighth with Stephen Jelley behind. They will both start on the front row in the final race with the latter driver on pole position.

A strong result for multiple hotrod champion Carl Boardley after he finished in the top-10 for the first time this year.

Position Driver Team
1 Ash Sutton Laser Tools Racing
2 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C)
3 Jake Hill MB Motorsport (C)
4 Josh Cook BTC Racing
5 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics
6 Tom Ingram EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
7 Senna Proctor BTC Racing
8 Jason Plato Power Maxed Racing
9 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C)
10 Carl Boardley Laser Tools Racing
11 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing
12 Jack Goff Team HARD
13 Chris Smiley EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
14 Jack Butel EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
15 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD
16 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport
17 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C)
18 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics
19 Paul Rivett Motorbase Performance (C)
20 Sam Osborne Motorbase Performance (C)
21 Jack Mitchell Team HARD
22 Ollie Jackson MB Motorsport (C)
23 Jade Edwards BTC Racing
24 Sam Smelt
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
25 Tom Chilton Ciceley Motorsport
26 Daniel Lloyd Power Maxed Racing
27 Rick Parfitt Jr. EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
28 DNF* Rory Butcher
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
29 DNF* Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD