BTCC Knockhill: Turkington commands thrilling opening race

Colin Turkington dominates a delayed opening race at Knockhill giving West Surrey Racing their 100th BTCC race win.

After delays from heavy mist and red flags in the support series races, Round 13 of the British Touring Car Championship got underway 32 minutes later than scheduled.

At the end of Lap 1, Turkington pulled a huge gap to second place Senna Proctor as well as the squabbling Chris Smiley and Josh Cook.

Big crash for Power Maxed Racing’s Daniel Lloyd bringing out a safety car at the start of lap 4.

Lloyd walked away from the accident with no injuries as Race 2 will give another chance for the PMR driver to demonstrate his untapped capabilities.

The top-seven runners did not change positions in the first 15 laps of the race.

Turkington pulled away in the lead drawing a three-second gap from second place Chris Smiley.

Rory Butcher, Gordon Shedden and Tom Ingram where all fighting for 8th, with Ingram leading the fight with a large amount of added ballast weight.

Lights came off the safety car at the end of Lap 10, releasing Turkington to attempt to enhance a gap between him and the rest of the field yet again.

Rory Butcher and Tom Oliphant were fighting door-to-door all the way down through Turns 1, 2 and 3 with Butcher just managing to save his 10th position from the BMW driver.

Ash Sutton forces his way past the ballast-heavy Ford Focus of Jake Hill on Lap 18 at Clark corner.

Sutton was on a charge through the field and latched onto the back of Cook’s BTC Racing Honda in 4th, getting past on Lap 20 forcing Smiley down into fifth position.

Tom Oliphant was facing the wrong way coming out of the hairpin at the bottom of the hill after rejoining contact with the Toyota of Rory Butcher.

On the last lap of the race, Turkington pulled a 4.2 second gap giving West Surrey Racing their 100th race victory.

BTC Racing drivers Proctor and Cook completed the podium spots.

In fourth was Sutton ahead of Chris Smiley, Jake Hill and Aiden Moffat.

Gordon Shedden claimed eighth ahead of fellow Scotsman Rory Butcher, and Tom Ingram who rounded off the top-10.

Position Driver Team
1 Colin Turkington Team BMW
2 Senna Proctor BTC Racing
3 Josh Cook BTC Racing
4 Ash Sutton
Laser Tools Racing
5 Chris Smiley
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
6 Jake Hill
MB Motorsport (C)
7 Aiden Moffat
Laser Tools Racing
8 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics
9 Rory Butcher
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
10 Tom Ingram
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
11 Stephan Jelley Team BMW (C)
12 Tom Chilton
Ciceley Motorsport
13 Adam Morgan
Ciceley Motorsport
14 Jason Plato
Power Maxed Racing
15 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics
16 Jack Goff Team HARD
17 Sam Smelt
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
18 Carl Boardley
Laser Tools Racing
19 Sam Osbourne
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
20 Jack Butel
MB Motorsport (C)
21 Rick Parfitt Jr.
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
22 Jack Mitchell Team HARD
23 Paul Rivett
Racing With Wera and Photon Group
24 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD
25 Aron Taylor-Smith Team HARD
26 Jade Edwards BTC Racing
27 *DNF Ollie Jackson
MB Motorsport (C)
28 *DNF Tom Oliphant Team BMW
29 *DNF Daniel Lloyd
Power Maxed Racing