Le Mans 24H: Kobayashi grabs consecutive Hyperpole for Toyota GAZOO Racing

The #7 of Kamui Kobayashi took overall Hyperpole for Round 4 of the FIA WEC, the 24 Hours of Le Mans this weekend on 21-22 August.

It was a picturesque dusk scene at Le Mans ahead of a 30-minute fight for Hyperpole position across four categories.

Yesterday hosted an incident-filled 1-hour session which featured the full 62-car field which fought for the top-six. Now 23 would fight for the top spots.

An impressive first outing by the outright lap record holder Kamui Kobayashi when he set a competitive time of 3m23.900s to land provisional Hyperpole.

Eight minutes into the session and Kevin Estre, who claimed all GTE-Pro pole positions so far this season, overcooked the Indianapolis corner thus sending the rear into the wall.

Due to the fact he caused a Red Flag deployment, he was not allowed to take part any further.

Gianmaria Bruni in the sister works Porsche struggled to put down the pace of the 911 RSR GTE to set a 3m47.696s.

The #8 of Brendon Hartley took P2 in Hypercars and was unable to chase his sister Hypercar’s lap time also.

The fight for third overall was close between Nico Lapierre in the #36 Alpine, who struggled to put down his pace to escape the jaws of Olivier Pla and his SCG 007 LMH.

Kobayashi took Hyperpole last year, and repeated the achievement again this evening for the fourth time in five years.

Antonio Felix Da Costa took pole in the LMP2 category, followed by Dries Vanthoor in the #72 Hub Auto Racing in GTE-Pro with a 3m46.882s.

Finally, Julien Andlauer put the #88 on pole position in the final GTE-Am category with a time of 3m47.987s.

In LMP2, GTE-Pro and GTE-Am, the times/positions for outside their top-six can be seen in the previous qualifying report.


Diff. to session pole

1 1 #7 Toyota GAZOO Racing Kamui Kobayashi 3m23.900s – –
2 2 #8 Toyota GAZOO Racing Brendon Hartley 3m24.195s 0.295s
3 3 #36 Alpine Elf Matmut Nicolas Lapierre 3m25.574s 1.674s
4 4 #708 Glickenhaus Racing Olivier Pla 3m25.639s 1.739s
5 5 #709 Glickenhaus Racing Romain Dumas 3m26.931s 3.031s
6 1 #38 JOTA Antonio Felix Da Costa 3m27.950s 4.050s
7 2 #41 Team WRT Louis Deletraz 3m28.470s 4.570s
8 3 #65 Panis Racing Will Stevens 3m28.586s 4.686s
9 4 #26 G-Drive Racing Nyck De Vries 3m28.943s 5.043s
10 5 #32 United Autosports Nicolas Jamin 3m29.078s 5.178s
11 6 #23 United Autosports Paul Di Resta 3m30.027s 6.127s
12 1 #72 Hub Auto Racing Dries Vanthoor 3m46.882s 22.982s
13 2 #52 AF Corse Daniel Serra 3m47.063s 23.163s
14 3 #64 Corvette Racing Nicholas Tandy 3m47.093s 23.193s
15 4 #51 AF Corse James Calado 3m47.247s 23.347s
16 5 #91 Porsche GT Team Gianmaria Bruni 3m47.696s 23.796s
17 6 #92 Porsche GT Team Kevin Estre NO TIME SET N/A
18 1 #88 Dempsey-Proton Racing Julien Andlauer 3m47.987s 24.087s
19 2 #86 GR Racing Tom Gamble 3m48.560s 24.660s
20 3 #56 Team Project 1 Matteo Cairoli 3m48.876s 24.976s
21 4 #47 Cetilar Racing Antonio Fuoco 3m49.387s 25.487s
22 5 #71 Inception Racing Ben Barnicoat 3m49.477s 25.577s
23 6 #33 TF Sport Felipe Fraga 3m49.676s 25.776s