Belgian GP: Verstappen tops FP2 despite crash

Max Verstappen topped the timesheets during the second Free Practice session of this weekend’s Belgian Grand Prix at Spa-Francorchamps.

The skies towering above the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps were filled with clouds to assert a dry but chilly FP2 session.

Alike FP1, proceedings started with a few droplets of water soon having a few drivers try intermediate tyres before everyone went on slicks.

A mixture of hard and medium tyres were being run by the teams who collected more data about the longer runs.

A new feature was tested out, last seen back in 2011, an in-helmet camera as regularly seen in Formula E with their ‘Driver’s Eye’ on-board camera.

Fans had the chance to see a point-of-view outlook of a lap by Alpine F1’s Fernando Alonso, who occupied the fastest first sector for the majority of the session.

This was before his teammate Esteban Ocon bettered the Spaniard’s opening sector time.

Lewis Hamilton, who finished 18th in FP1 earlier today, was also finding his groove on return to the upper end of the leaderboard.

During the final 15 minutes of the 1-hour session, Esteban Ocon had a brief spin after Blanchimont when he expressed concerns of vibrations (in the wheel) over the radio.

Charles Leclerc crashed into the barriers after stepping onto the throttle slightly too early out of Turn 6 which upset the rear of his SF21.

The session resumed with 10 minutes to go after the marshalls recovered the Monegasque’s damaged Ferrari.

Soft tyres were used towards the end as the threat of rain for FP3 could diminish any dry qualifying simulation running for later that afternoon.

With three minutes remaining, Max Verstappen crashed out at Turn 7 when he hit the high kerbs to lose the rear end.

Nevertheless, the Dutchman was fastest with a 1m44.472s ahead of Valtteri Bottas and Lewis Hamilton.

Alonso finished fourth ahead of Pierre Gasly, Lance Stroll and Esteban Ocon.

Aston Martin’s Sebastian Vettel was in eighth ahead of Lando Norris and Sergio Perez, the Red Bull driver recently announcing a contract extension.

Carlos Sainz, Yuki Tsunoda and Antonio Giovinazzi finished in 11th, 12th and 13th positions.

Kimi Raikkonen was behind in 14th, followed by McLaren’s Daniel Ricciardo and Nicholas Latifi.

The Canadian’s teammate George Russell finished 17th ahead of Leclerc.

Alike FP1, Haas F1 duo Nikita Mazepin and Mick Schumacher rounded off the order.