BTCC Thruxton: Rowbottom lands second pole of the season

Dan Rowbottom landed his second pole position at Thruxton for Round 16 of the British Touring Car Championship.

A dry circuit awaited all 29 drivers as they pushed for pole position ahead of tomorrow’s Race 1.

The opening minutes had BMWs take the top three positions, but the times drastically got quicker with drivers pushing to the limits.

Dan Rowbottom, already a race winner and multiple podium-sitter this season, was the first to better Turkington with a 1m15.847s.

With 27 kg ballast on-board, this time held the top spot for much of the session before Jake Hill surpassed him by a tenth-of-a-second.

Meanwhile Ash Sutton was extracting the most from his Infiniti Q50 by carrying 77 kg of weight ballast.

His teammate Aiden Moffat suffered a rear-left puncture after two flying laps, predictably due to being aggressive on the kerbs.

A minor drama emerged when Gordon Shedden’s front brakes were on fire thus causing him to abandon a strong flying lap.

Other dramas were instances of drivers going off the circuit, including Carl Boardley, Jade Edwards, Aron Taylor-Smith and Rory Butcher.

During the last 10 minutes of the session, times became close as did the fight for pole between the hatchbacks.

Rowbottom snatched back his top spot by 0.086s during the final few minutes, setting a 1m15.521s.

Jake Hill and Josh Cook narrowly missed out to complete the top three places.

Rory Butcher landed fourth ahead of the first BMW, Tom Oliphant.

Two rear-wheel drive cars followed with Ciceley Motorsport’s Adam Morgan and Ash Sutton.

Dan Lloyd set a 1m15.922s to go eighth fastest.

Colin Turkington and Senna Proctor rounded off the top-10 order.

Position Driver Team Time Diff. from pole
1 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics 1m15.521s – –
2 Jake Hill MB Motorsport (C) 1m15.607s 0.086s
3 Josh Cook BTC Racing 1m15.632s 0.111s
4 Rory Butcher Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 1m15.731s 0.210s
5 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C) 1m15.838s 0.317s
6 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport 1m15.855s 0.334s
7 Ash Sutton Laser Tools Racing 1m15.862s 0.341s
8 Dan Lloyd Power Maxed Racing 1m15.922s 0.401s
9 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C) 1m15.931s 0.410s
10 Senna Proctor BTC Racing 1m15.939s 0.418s
11 Jason Plato Power Maxed Racing 1m16.043s 0.522s
12 Tom Ingram EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m16.099s 0.578s
13 Tom Chilton Ciceley Motorsport 1m16.153s 0.632s
14 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics 1m16.166s 0.645s
15 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C) 1m16.211s 0.690s
16 Chris Smiley EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m16.266s 0.745s
17 Jack Goff Team HARD 1m16.510s 0.989s
18 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing 1m16.644s 1.123s
19 Jade Edwards BTC Racing 1m16.690s 1.169s
20 Ollie Jackson MB Motorsport (C) 1m16.740s 1.219s
21 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD 1m16.746s 1.225s
22 Jack Butel EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m16.763s 1.242s
23 Paul Rivett Motorbase Performance (C) 1m16.770s 1.249s
24 Sam Smelt Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 1m16.880s 1.359s
25 Jack Mitchell Team HARD 1m17.006s 1.485s
26 Carl Boardley Laser Tools Racing 1m17.061s 1.540s
27 Sam Osborne Motorbase Performance (C) 1m17.070s 1.549s
28 Rick Parfitt Jr. EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m17.137s 1.616s
29 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD 1m18.176s 2.655s