Pol Espargaro ends up with British GP pole

Pol Espargaro snatched his third pole position in bizarre circumstances at Silverstone for the British GP tomorrow.

Pol Espargaro wildly celebrated a pole position at Silverstone at the end of a strange session for tomorrow’s British GP. Pramac pole-king Jorge Martin seemed to do enough with a stunning 1m58.008s.

However, Martin cut the track at Vale, and the lap time got displayed incorrectly. Once race direction noticed, the lap got deleted, and the pole belonged to Espargaro. Martin starts fourth for the race tomorrow.

Ducati’s Pecco Bagnaia claimed second place ahead of championship leader Fabio Quartararo. Marc Marquez underlined Repsol Honda’s terrific day with a fifth-place finish.

Joan Mir couldn’t sustain his speed in Q2 after setting a session-best 2m00.237s, but the reigning champion slid back behind his teammate Alex Rins in the order.

Valentino Rossi’s farewell to his adoring British fans started perfectly as The Doctor qualified in eighth place. Home favourite Cal Crutchlow enjoyed a solid session on his comeback in 19th. The Coventry-born rider out-qualified factory KTM rider, Miguel Oliveira.

Young Italians Enea Bastianini and Luca Marini battled in Q1, although they didn’t make it through to Q2. Nevertheless, the youngsters’ lineup 13th and 14th.

Ultimately, Espargaro heads the field to the grid tomorrow. The big guns are all in striking distance; the race promises to be a cracker.

Provisional Classification

1 Pol Espargaro SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) 1’58.889s 6/7 336k
2 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Team (GP21) +0.022s 6/7 338k
3 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.036s 6/6 332k
4 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP21)* +0.185s 7/7 339k
5 Marc Marquez SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) +0.197s 6/7 335k
6 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) +0.384s 7/7 334k
7 Jack Miller AUS Ducati Team (GP21) +0.479s 5/6 338k
8 Valentino Rossi ITA Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.642s 7/7 332k
9 Johann Zarco FRA Pramac Ducati (GP21) +0.690s 6/6 339k
10 Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +0.750s 6/7 331k
11 Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +0.874s 7/7 329k
12 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16) +1.088s 6/7 332k
Qualifying 1:
13 Enea Bastianini ITA Avintia Ducati (GP19)* 1’59.553s 3/5 338k
14 Luca Marini ITA Sky VR46 Avintia Ducati (GP19)* 1’59.764s 7/7 334k
15 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 1’59.881s 5/7 331k
16 Danilo Petrucci ITA KTM Tech3 (RC16) 1’59.997s 7/7 334k
17 Alex Marquez SPA LCR Honda (RC213V) 2’0.117s 7/7 333k
18 Iker Lecuona SPA KTM Tech3 (RC16) 2’0.131s 5/7 330k
19 Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 2’0.217s 7/7 333k
20 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM (RC16) 2’0.391s 2/7 331k
21 Jake Dixon GBR Petronas Yamaha (YZR-M1) 2’0.869s 3/7 325k