Max Verstappen wins the Dutch GP in front of a raucous crowd

Max Verstappen triumphed at Zandvoort in today’s Dutch GP. The Flying Dutchman sent his fans into raptures as he crushed the opposition in the 72-lap race. 

Red Bull’s Verstappen claimed victory on home soil to reclaim the championship lead. Verstappen leapt off the line at the start, and his pace was too much for Mercedes and Hamilton.

Hamilton harried, and Mercedes even used Bottas as a blocker, all to no avail. Verstappen was too good all weekend. The Dutch fans were in a fevered frenzy before the start; by the end of lap 72, Zandvoort erupted with national pride.

Hamilton tried and tried, although he took some consolation with the fastest lap and second place. Bottas’ Mercedes career is undoubtedly coming to an end after the Finn toiled to finish third.

Pierre Gasly and Charles Leclerc finished fourth and fifth as both had quiet afternoons. Carlos Sainz lacked pace on the harder tyre, and his Spanish hero Fernando Alonso passed him to snatch sixth.

Sergio Perez battled back to claim eighth after starting in the pit lane and an early flat spot; it was a good fightback. Perez pulled off several gutsy overtakes as he fought his way through the pack.

Lando Norris salvaged a problematic weekend for McLaren after a long first stint hauled him into contention. Norris eventually got past teammate Daniel Ricciardo to finish tenth.

George Russell and Antonio Giovinazzi were the day’s biggest losers. Russell took a five-second penalty at his second stop before tyre trouble caused him to finish 17th.

Giovinazzi got shuffled out at the start before an early stop put him out of sync. A slow puncture due to gravel on the track finished his afternoon off.

Ultimately, today was all about Max Verstappen. It was his homecoming party, and Verstappen delivered. He now holds the championship lead as F1 heads to Monza next weekend

Provisional Race Classification

Position No. Driver Car
1 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull-Honda
2 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
3 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes
4 10 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri-Honda
5 16 Charles Leclerc Ferrari
6 14 Fernando Alonso Alpine-Renault
7 55 Carlos Sainz Jnr Ferrari
8 11 Sergio Perez Red Bull-Honda
9 31 Esteban Ocon Alpine-Renault
10 4 Lando Norris McLaren-Mercedes
11 3 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren-Mercedes
12 18 Lance Stroll Aston Martin-Mercedes
13 5 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin-Mercedes
14 99 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo-Ferrari
15 88 Robert Kubica Alfa Romeo-Ferrari
16 6 Nicholas Latifi Williams-Mercedes
17 63 George Russell Williams-Mercedes
18 47 Mick Schumacher Haas-Ferrari