BTCC Croft: Moffat takes maiden pole position during tense qualifying

Aiden Moffat claimed his first British Touring Car Championship pole position during qualifying at Croft ahead of Round 19 tomorrow.

At a dry and cloudy Croft Circuit, it was a tight 30-minute qualifying session that saw drivers pushing for pole and stretching the track limits.

The opening flying laps were topped by the Infiniti and BMW teams, both utilising highly favoured rear-wheel drive packages.

Carl Boardley had a small off-track endeavour at Turn 1 due to cold rear tyres.

Drivers were tackling congestion into the final hairpin as they set themselves up for their flying laps.

Nine minutes in, Rory Butcher stopped at Sunny In with a hint of smoke as his Toyota Corolla dropped oil onto the track.

This initiated a red flag period from the Scotsman who was yet to set a lap time.

Soon after the green flag, Jake Hill was the first notable quick driver from the group of front-wheel drive hatchbacks.

Just after the halfway point, Colin Turkington set a lap to jump from seventh to provisional pole.

A second red flag was deployed when Nicolas Hamilton lost his Cupra under braking and hit the tyre barrier – he drove back to the pitlane but was not allowed to take part any further.

The disruption proved untimely for many drivers in hatchbacks who needed time to warm up their tyres.

After an intense final 10-minutes, Aiden Moffat claimed his first BTCC pole position.

Jake Hill landed second place and 12-time Croft race winner Colin Turkington qualified third.

Senna Proctor took fourth ahead of Adam Morgan, Tom Oliphant, and Josh Cook.

Ash Sutton, with 75 kg of weight ballast from his championship lead, was eighth.

Dan Rowbottom grabbed ninth out on his final flying lap after encountering issues as smoke came out of his Honda Civic Type R just minutes earlier.

PMR’s Jason Plato completed the top-10 order.

Position Driver Team Time Diff. from pole
1 Aiden Moffat Laser Tools Racing 1m22.037s – –
2 Jake Hill MB Motorsport (C) 1m22.077s 0.040s
3 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C) 1m22.159s 0.122s
4 Senna Proctor BTC Racing 1m22.169s 0.132s
5 Adam Morgan Ciceley Motorsport 1m22.186s 0.149s
6 Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C) 1m22.190s 0.153s
7 Josh Cook BTC Racing 1m22.214s 0.177s
8 Ash Sutton Laser Tools Racing 1m22.297s 0.260s
9 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics 1m22.330s 0.293s
10 Jason Plato Power Maxed Racing 1m22.413s 0.376s
11 Ollie Jackson MB Motorsport (C) 1m22.438s 0.401s
12 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C) 1m22.502s 0.465s
13 Chris Smiley EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m22.543s 0.506s
14 Dan Lloyd Power Maxed Racing 1m22.545s 0.508s
15 Tom Chilton Ciceley Motorsport 1m22.573s 0.536s
16 Jack Goff Team HARD 1m22.603s 0.566s
17 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics 1m22.629s 0.592s
18 Sam Smelt Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) 1m22.655s 0.618s
19 Sam Osborne Motorbase Performance (C) 1m22.673s 0.636s
20 Carl Boardley Laser Tools Racing 1m22.734s 0.697s
21 Tom Ingram EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m22.846s 0.809s
22 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD 1m22.994s 0.957s
23 Jade Edwards BTC Racing 1m23.219 1.182s
24 Jack Mitchell Team HARD 1m23.276s 1.239s
25 Jack Butel EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m23.319s 1.282s
26 Andy Neate Motorbase Performance (C) 1m23.950s 1.913s
27 Nick Halstead EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars 1m24.993s 2.956s
28 Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD 1m27.260s 5.223s
29 Rory Butcher Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C) NO TIME SET N/A