BTCC Croft: Hill dominates chaotic second race to secure victory

Jake Hill dominated Round 20 of the British Touring Car Championship at Croft, taking the win over P2 by over five-and-a-half seconds.

MB Motorsport’s Jake Hill ran away with his first win of the season after a chaotic and packed Race 2 at Croft Circuit.

At lights out, Aiden Moffat and Jake Hill managed to have a strong getaway allowing them both to start working together to pull away.

Josh Cook and Colin Turkington went door-to-door and made contact as Cook managed to make the move stick against the BMW.

Jake Hill also put a move on Aiden Moffat for the lead soon afterwards.

Rory Butcher and Tom Chilton collided and bring out a safety car period.

Tom Oliphant experienced woes at the Jim Clark Esses when his rear suspension broke at the end of Lap 3.

Safety car returned to the pits at the end of Lap 5 and the lap count was increased from 15 to 18 laps.

Nicolas Hamilton and Jack Butel made contact at the hairpin on the restart, forcing Butel into the pits to get his bonnet pushed back down after it flew up into the windscreen. Hamilton retired from the race.

Meanwhile, BTC Racing team-mates Josh Cook and Senna Proctor were fighting amongst themselves to take on Moffat’s Infiniti in third.

Cook made it through and Turkington very nearly followed him through.

By the 10th lap, Hill established a 2.370s gap to Moffat behind, who in turn was dealing with Josh Cook for the next couple of laps.

During a fight for positions including multiple cars, Senna Proctor dropped places all the way down to eighth.

Turkington was forced out wide as Shedden left no margin for advantage to the four-time BTCC champion.

The Scotsman passed both of them as well as Tom Ingram.

Lap 13 also put Moffat defending once again against a pack of drivers behind as he succumbed to his maximum weight ballast from his Race 1 victory.

Stephen Jelley and Dan Lloyd fought intensely for 10th place, but their scrap led to Lloyd going off-track and Sam Osbourne opportunistically climbing three places up to 12th.

Sutton put immense pressure on Cook, but Ingram had other ideas and made his move into the hairpin and moved himself up into contention to challenge Cook for the third and final podium position.

Sutton tried everything possible to pass Ingram on the penultimate lap, but Ingram fended off his attempts defensively but fairly.

At the checkered flag, Hill won by over five seconds and Moffat earned his second podium of the day.

BTC Racing landed a second podium today in the hands of Josh Cook.

Tom Ingram finished fourth ahead of fellow title rival Ash Sutton.

Flash came sixth, edging out Colin Turkington and Senna Proctor.

Chris Smiley and Adam Morgan rounded out the top-10 order.

Position Driver Team
1 Jake Hill
MB Motorsport (C)
2 Aiden Moffat
Laser Tools Racing
3 Josh Cook BTC Racing
4 Tom Ingram
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
5 Ash Sutton
Laser Tools Racing
6 Gordon Shedden Team Dynamics
7 Colin Turkington Team BMW (C)
8 Senna Proctor BTC Racing
9 Chris Smiley
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
10 Adam Morgan
Ciceley Motorsport
11 Stephen Jelley Team BMW (C)
12 Jason Plato
Power Maxed Racing
13 Sam Osborne
Motorbase Performance (C)
14 Ollie Jackson
MB Motorsport (C)
15 Jack Goff Team HARD
16 Daniel Rowbottom Team Dynamics
17 Tom Chilton
Ciceley Motorsport
18 Dan Lloyd
Power Maxed Racing
19 Sam Smelt
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)
20 Jack Mitchell Team HARD
21 Jade Edwards BTC Racing
22 Árón Taylor-Smith Team HARD
23 Carl Boardley
Laser Tools Racing
24 Andy Neate
Motorbase Performance (C)
25 Nick Halstead
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
26 Jack Butel
EXCELR8 Trade Price Cars
27 (DNF) Nicolas Hamilton Team HARD
28 (DNF) Tom Oliphant Team BMW (C)
29 (DNF) Rory Butcher
Toyota GAZOO Racing UK (C)